To find a list of online library article databases by subject, click this link:
Gale Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
is a digital library of more than 1,500 academic journals, books, and primary sources. JSTOR helps people discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content through a powerful research and teaching platform, and preserves this content for future generations. Includes collections: Arts and Sciences II, Arts and Sciences III, Arts and Sciences V, Arts and Sciences VIII, Arts and Sciences XII, and Life Sciences.
provides research in areas related to communication and mass media. This database includes the defunct databases,CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index.
Ideal for business schools and entrepreneurs, Gale OneFile: Entrepreneurship is updated daily and provides insights, tips, strategies, and success stories. Users find more than 500 subject-appropriate, active, full-text periodicals, including: Beverage Industry, Black Enterprise, Economist, Entrepreneurship: Theory and Practice, HR Magazine, Real Estate Weekly, Restaurant Business, Tea & Coffee Trade Journal, And more.
has full-text articles and citiations covering a wide range of academic subjects from journals, magazines, and other types of publications dating from 1971 to the present.
Educator's Reference Complete : Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
consists of a collection of viewpoint articles, topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, and an assortment of multmedia clips from academic journals, magazines, and other types of publications.
SIRS Issues Researcher delivers general reference and contains thousands of full text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues selected from over 1,700 domestic and international publications. Beginning August 1, 2019, SIRS Issues Researcher also provides content from SIRS Renaissance (information related to architecture, design, culture, literature, multimedia, music, performing and visual arts, philosophy and religion) and SIRS Government Reporter (current and historic government documents, landmark and recent U.S. Supreme Court decisions, information about federal departments, agencies, elected leaders and more).
Global Issues In Context supports global awareness and provides a global perspective while tying together a wealth of authoritative content, empowering learners to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world. Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more in a single search—Global Issues In Context is updated daily and offers 250 different country topic pages and more than 400 Issue pages. Exclusive to Global Issues In Context, Global Issues Viewpoints contains more than 3,000 exclusive commentaries that provide background and guidance on significant topics.
was founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports and provides comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Each week, CQ reporters add an in-depth, non-biased article on political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
Gale OneFile: Business allows users to discover a comprehensive collection of business, trade, and international publications.
Mapped to four key business stages—plan, fund, start, and manage—Entrepreneurship: Gale Business covers all major areas of starting and operating a business.
Statista.com consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.
offers in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as coverage of hard news. Coverage: 1982-the present.
Gale OneFile: Psychology collection provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. The database offers content of interest to both researchers and general users.
ProQuest One Psychology is a broad, user-friendly resource designed to support the unique needs of of psychology and counseling in research, teaching, and learning. Content is organized to align with how psychology faculty and students approach common assignments, research questions, and methodologies.
Gale OneFile: U.S. History provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. Updated daily, thie library resource offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work being established in the field.
Gale OneFile: World History collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field.
integrates biographies from various sources with related full text articles from hundreds of magazines and newspapers, as well as tens of thousands of images and links to vetted websites.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine integrates tens of millions of articles from a wide range of full-text nursing and allied health journals, magazines, newsletters and select consumer health information sources with full-text reference works and thousands of health-related multimedia assets.
is a comprehensive reference tool designed to provide relevant clinical resources to nurses and other health care professionals. It offers access to thousands of full text documents covering clinical evidence, diseases and conditions, patient education, and more.
Alexander Street's Behavioral and Mental Health Online provides a comprehensive, rich, and diverse collection of video and text for anyone studying or teaching in the area of mental health. Programs in counseling, social work, nursing, psychology and behavioral health will all benefit from the wide variety of content in this collection, which includes clinical mental health demonstrations, actual therapy sessions, compelling documentaries on the human condition, psychotherapy transcripts, as well client narratives and reference works.
Gale Health and Wellness provides instant access to carefully compiled medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.
presents an extensive and unique assemblage of videos from practitioners, teachers, and researchers in a wide array of medical fields—including dentistry, nursing, rehabilitation therapy, sports medicine and exercise science, and veterinary science. Instructional videos by world-renowned clinicians and educators provide detailed lessons and demonstrations of skills and techniques. Interviews, documentaries, and reports from leading researchers explore both basic principles and today’s cutting-edge knowledge of health and wellness.
offers a wide-ranging survey of engineering, environmental studies, natural history, and the physical and biological sciences, and focuses on their practical, ground-level applications. Thousands of documentaries, instructional materials, how-to guides, and lectures provide an engaging, hands-on framework from which to explore the inner workings of the cell, the outer workings of the solar system, and everything in between. Science and Engineering also examines larger issues around scientific exploration, such as patent law and ethics, fostering interdisciplinary conversations on key themes in the humanities and social sciences.
a collection of full text articles, topic overviews, and experiments from academic journals, magazines, reference books and other types of publications. Also included are videos, images, and other multmedia material.
With the Gale OneFile: Science, researchers can remain current with the latest scientific developments in particle physics, advanced mathematics, nanotechnology, geology, and hundreds of other areas.
Once you find an article you want to use for your assignment, you may read it online, print it, email to your email account or save it to disk. The information is the same for all. Be sure if you are printing, emailing, or saving it to disk, that you check the box to include full text.
Caution: Be careful when emailing a PDF article, because those files can be quite large. Many email/Internet providers have strict limits on the size of messages and attachments, and oversized PDF attachments might be deleted automatically by your email server or exceed your available mailbox space.
Your Canvas email address follows this format: username@my.tccd.edu
For instance, if Canvas username is marion.librarian25667
then your TCC email address is: marion.librarian25667@my.tccd.edu
Once you have selected the database and followed any login instructions, enter your search terms. You can perform a basic or advanced search. The basic search is further divided by keywords or exact phrases. For most searches, basic keyword combinations [Example: privacy and terrorism] are sufficient. If you need to limit your results to "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" journals only, check the box labeled "peer-reviewed." In addition, check the box labeled "full text" (if available) so you will only get articles that include the full text.
Document formats: Once you have completed your search and are viewing the result list, you will notice that many articles are available in different formats.
If the documents are not what you are looking for, click on "Refine Search" and try other terms. Try searching synonyms, using specific phrases for exact searches, or use the Expand Search to locate related words.