Skip to Main Content

ENGL 1301 SO

This guide has been designed to assist you in the research for your ENGL 1301 persuasive or argumentative papers.

Books

Searching the catalog: 

1. Begin on the TCC Libraries homepage

2. Scroll down to TCC Library Catalog

3. Select "In the Library"

4. Select your home campus or leave as "Any Campus" to search all TCC library locations

5. Type what you are searching for in the search box (for example: book title, author, topic keywords) and click the Search button

6. Use the filters to narrow down your results.

Some of the filter options that may be useful are Resource Type (you can limit to "Books"), Publication Date, Subject, Genre, Author, Language, and Library. You may also see options like Course Instructor, Course Code, Course Name, and Course Department (if there are Course Reserve materials in your results).

7.  If the item is available, the results will show where it is available in the collection.

If the item is at more than one of the campuses, you will see "and other locations" - click to open the item record to view all campus library locations for the item.

Find on the shelf: Browse the shelves  

1.  After you have searched for and located a book in the library catalog, use the location information from the catalog record to help you locate the item in the library.

2. The information after the library name will tell you what section of the library the item is in. Books that have "Circulating Collection" listed are books that you can check out and take out of the library. These are ones that you will find on the shelves. Books that have "Library Reserves" listed will be held at the library's circulation desk. Most of these can only be checked out for use in the library for a couple of hours. Other books may list something else (for example, "New Arrivals" or "Oversized"). Books may be on display or part of a specific collection.

3. Look for signs on the ends of the shelves to find the shelf the book should be on, then use the call number listed to locate the item on the shelf.

4. If you need help finding a book, stop by the reference desk in the library to get help from a librarian.

For general browsing of our print collection for (English, etc.), these Library of Congress call number sections might be of interest:

•  PR--English Literature

•  PS--American Literature

 

 

 

 

Search the catalog

  1. Begin on the TCC Libraries homepage
  2. Scroll down to TCC Library Catalog
  3. Select "Ebooks"
  4. Type what you are searching for in the search box (for example: book title, author, topic keywords) and click the Search button 
  5. Use the filters to narrow down your results.
    Some of the filter options that may be useful are Publication Date, Subject, Genre, Author, and Language.     

eBooks and audiobooks can be found in our catalog from a variety of databases. You can search in specific databases like Gale Books and Authors, ProQuest eBook Central or in the general search bar on our website. 

TCC library catalog search bar

Searching the TCC Library Catalog will show some titles Available Online. 

A companion to art theory book cover

boundless title bar 

Boundless by Baker and Taylor is an app that you can download on your phone to access eBooks and Audiobooks for both Apple and Android platforms. You can search for title in the app or through the TCC Catalog. 

TCC article database choice box

Sign in to your account using your TCC email and password

boundless dashboard with arrow point to sign in link

Checkout or Add to your Wishlist or Place a Hold

The City we Became listing with arrows pointing to favorites and checkout buttons

Access online

  1. After you have searched for and located an eBook in the library catalog, click on "Available Online" or the book title to open up the catalog record.
  2. Use the link(s) listed under View Online to access the eBook.

Browse available eBooks

Click on one of the eBook collections listed below to browse available titles. (Links open in a new tab)

Related Guides

The library does not collect textbooks; however, we may have a copy of your textbook if your instructor has placed one on reserve. Generally, these can only be checked out for use in the library for a couple of hours. You can search our Course Reserves using the steps below. You can also stop by the library or chat with us online. We are always happy to check to see if we have a book available.

TCC Library Catalog Course Reserves search option

Search the catalog

  1. Begin on the TCC Libraries homepage
  2. Scroll down to TCC Library Catalog
  3. Select "Course Reserves" 
  4. Type what you are searching for in the search box (for example: book title, course instructor name, course code). 
  5. If the item is available, results will show where it is available at.
    If the item is at more than one campus you will see "and other locations" - click to open the item record to view all campus library locations for the item.

Find in the library

Visit the library's circulation desk to check out books that are part of the Reserves collection. Make sure you have your ID with you. You'll need it to check out library materials.