The Writing Centers at TCC are located on every campus and can help you with your citation and formatting questions. Visit the Writing and Reading Support Canvas page to chat with a tutor, schedule an appointment, and learn more about their services and how they can help.
Refer to the TCC Student Handbook for information regarding academic integrity and prohibited behaviors, including a definition and examples of plagiarism (Student Code of Conduct, Article III, Item 31).
The TCC Libraries offer two tutorials about plagiarism and how to avoid it. The tutorials cover the same content but use different citation styles.
Citations
For more help with citations check our Citation guide or reach out to the Writing Center.
MLA Handbook (9th edition) by Book by One Author
Mantel, Hilary. Wolf Hall. Picador, 2010.
Book by an Unknown Author
Beowulf. Translated by Alan Sullivan and Timothy Murphy, edited by Sarah Anderson, Pearson, 2004.
An Edited Book
Sánchez Prado, Ignacio M., editor. Mexican Literature in Theory. Bloomsbury, 2018.
Article on a website
Deresiewicz, William. “The Death of the Artist—and the Birth of the Creative Entrepreneur.” The Atlantic, 28 Dec. 2014, theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/2015/01/ the-death-of-the-artist-and-the-birth-of-thecreative-entrepreneur/383497/.
Book on a website
Poe, Edgar Allan. “The Masque of the Red Death.” The Complete Works of Edgar Allan Poe, edited by James A. Harrison, vol. 4, Thomas Y. Crowell, 1902, pp. 250-58. HathiTrust Digital Library, hdl.handle.net/2027/coo.31924079574368.
Journal Article in a Database
Goldman, Anne. “Questions of Transport: Reading Primo Levi Reading Dante.” The Georgia Review, vol. 64, no. 1, spring 2010, pp. 69-88. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/41403188.
Song from an Album
Snail Mail. “Thinning.” Habit, Sister Polygon Records, 2016. Vinyl EP.
Song on a website
Snail Mail. “Thinning.” Bandcamp, snailmailbaltimore.bandcamp.com.
Concert Attended in Person
Beyoncé. The “Formation” World Tour. 14 May 2016, Rose Bowl, Los Angeles.
A Movie Viewed in Person
Opening Night. Directed by John Cassavetes, Faces Distribution, 1977.
A Movie Viewed Online
Richardson, Tony, director. Sanctuary. Screenplay by James Poe, Twentieth Century Fox, 1961. YouTube, uploaded by LostCinemaChannel, 17 July 2014, www.youtube.com/watch?v=IMnzFM_Sq8s.
A Television Show Viewed on Physical Media
“Hush.” 1999. Buffy the Vampire Slayer: The Complete Fourth Season, created by Joss Whedon, episode 10, Mutant Enemy / Twentieth Century Fox, 2003, disc 3. DVD.
A Photograph Viewed in Person
Cameron, Julia Margaret. Alfred, Lord Tennyson. 1866, Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York City.
A Painting Viewed Online
Bearden, Romare. The Train. 1975. MOMA, www.moma.org/collection/works/65232?locale=en.
An Untitled Image from a Print Magazine
Karasik, Paul. Cartoon. The New Yorker, 14 Apr. 2008, p. 49.
(Source: MLA Style Center)
Most databases have a citation feature that allows you to copy the full citation for your source in your chosen format. This is a great way to get started with your reference list, but citations pulled from databases are not always 100% correct!
CINAHL Complete, Communication and Mass Media Complete from EBSCO, eBook Collection from EBSCOhost
