Research Guides: HIST 1301/1302 TR McCambridge: Find Articles

Scholarly research articles...

Different than books, but generally you will find that both can be helpful in your research.
Generally shorter than books...usually fewer than 30 pages. That means that they have to be more focused, with less overview information.
Published more quickly than books, so they also tend to contain more up-to-date information.
Can be found by searching the library's collection of databases.

See below for more information about what databases are and how to use them.

Need help searching a database? Schedule an appointment with the librarian to get focused, one-on-one help.

Wondering which database to use?

That depends on what you want to find. Knowing what you are looking for can help you choose a good database for your search.

Try one of these databases for general information about your topic including how your topic has been addressed by historians.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
is a digital library of more than 1,500 academic journals, books, and primary sources. JSTOR helps people discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content through a powerful research and teaching platform, and preserves this content for future generations. Includes collections: Arts and Sciences II, Arts and Sciences III, Arts and Sciences V, Arts and Sciences VIII, Arts and Sciences XII, and Life Sciences.
TCCD
Research Library - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
has full-text articles and citiations covering a wide range of academic subjects from journals, magazines, and other types of publications dating from 1971 to the present.
TCCD
U.S. History : Gale in Context This link opens in a new window
presents information on the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The database contains reference content and articles from full text magazines, academic journals, primary source documents, images, videos, and audio files.
TCCD

Looking for primary sources related to your topic? Do you need that first-hand evidence or original document? Try one of these databases:

U.S. History : Gale in Context This link opens in a new window
presents information on the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The database contains reference content and articles from full text magazines, academic journals, primary source documents, images, videos, and audio files.
TCCD
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
indexes articles covering various subjects from thousands of periodicals, many full text, full image format.
TCCD
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
is a digital library of more than 1,500 academic journals, books, and primary sources. JSTOR helps people discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content through a powerful research and teaching platform, and preserves this content for future generations. Includes collections: Arts and Sciences II, Arts and Sciences III, Arts and Sciences V, Arts and Sciences VIII, Arts and Sciences XII, and Life Sciences.
TCCD
New York Times - ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
offers full page and article images with searchable full text from the New York Times dating back to the 19th century. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
TCCD

What is a Database?

Library Databases - The Used Car Salesman (:36 seconds)
Courtesy BYU Library

Magazine and journal articles are found using an online tool called a database. Basically, a database acts like an online file cabinet containing many different resources that relate to each other by their subject or topic.

Search the databases to find articles from both scholarly and popular sources.

Remember: When off campus, you must login with your Web Advisor username and password to access a database through TCC libraries.