Although mostly unseen by us, moths are everywhere. And their capacity to delight astounds. Inspired by a revelatory encounter with a Poplar Hawk-moth - a huge, velvety-winged wonder wrapped in silver - James Lowen embarks on a year-long quest to celebrate the joy of Britain's rarest and most remarkable moths. By hiking upmountains, wading through marshes and roaming by night amid ancient woodlands, James follows the trails of both Victorian collectors and present-day conservationists. Seeking to understand why they and many ordinary folk love what the general public purports to hate, his investigations reveal a heady world of criminality and controversy, derring-do and determination.From Cornwall to the Cairngorms, James explores British landscapes to coax these much-maligned creatures out from the cover of darkness and into the light. Moths are revealed to be attractive, astonishing and approachable; capable of migratory feats and camouflage mastery, moths have much to tell us on the state of the nation's wild and not-so-wild habitats.As a counterweight to his travels, James and his young daughter track the seasons through a kaleidoscope of moth species living innocently yet covertly in their suburban garden. Without even leaving home, they bond over a shared joy in the uncommon beauty of common creatures, for perhaps the greatest virtue of moths, we learn, is their accessibility. Moths may be everywhere, but above all, they are here. Quite unexpectedly, no animals may be better placed to inspire the environmentalists of the future.
Description provided by Publisher, accessed through Primo
British Moths is the most comprehensive collection of photographs of British moths ever published. It covers both macro and micro species, and the images are all of living insects, taken in natural conditions. Concise text descriptions cover wingspan, status and distribution, flight period, habitat and larval foodplants, while thumbnail maps provide a quick overview of geographical distributions. This third edition has been significantly expanded so that it includes all species on the British list, approximately 2,500 in total, representing a magnificent achievement by the author, Chris Manley. It also includes updates to the text, improvements to the photographic selection, and extra identification hints. For the leaf-mining micros, photographs are included to demonstrate the all-important feeding signs that can often be a more reliable identification method than seeing the adult. This revised and now comprehensive edition is an essential part of the library of any moth enthusiast.
Description provided by Publisher, accessed through Primo
How fast do butterflies fly? Does a butterfly have ears? Do they sleep? Does a caterpillar have a skeleton? How does a moth get out of its cocoon? What is the difference between a butterfly and a moth? And just what is a skipper? Every year, thousands of people visit butterfly conservatories to stand in quiet awe of the simple beauty displayed by these magical creatures. Hazel Davies and Carol A. Butler capture the sense of wonderment and curiosity experienced by adults and children alike in this book about butterflies and their taxonomic cousins, the moths and the skippers. Beautifully illustrated with color and black and white photographs, and drawings by renowned artist William Howe, this book is an essential resource for parents, teachers, students, or anyone who has ever been entranced by these fascinating, fluttering creatures. Covering everything from their basic biology to their complex behaviors at every stage of life to issues in butterfly conservation, Davies and Butler explore wide-ranging topics and supply a trove of intriguing facts. You'll find tips on how to attract more butterflies to your garden, how to photograph them, and even how to raise them in your own home. Arranged in a question and answer format, the book provides detailed information written in an accessible style that brings to life the science and natural history of these insects. In addition, sidebars throughout the book detail an assortment of butterfly trivia, while extensive appendices direct you to organizations, web sites, and more than 200 indoor and outdoor public exhibits, where you can learn more or connect with other lepidopterophiles (butterfly lovers).
Description provided by Publisher, accessed through Primo
A field guide to butterflies and moths around the world, each depicted by a full-color photograph with a caption that describes key features and points of differentiation.
Description provided by Publisher, accessed through Primo
This latest edition of the Field Guide to the Moths of Great Britain and Ireland has been fully revised, updated and restructured, bringing it in line with the latest thinking in taxonomy. Moths are illustrated in their natural resting postures, and there are also paintings of different forms, underwings and other details to help with identification. New descriptions and illustrations have been included for species that have been newly recorded in Britain and Ireland since the last edition of the guide was published. The text descriptions of all other species - covering field characters and similar species, flight season, life cycle, larval foodplants, and habitat - have been revised and updated where necessary, and particular attention has been paid to updating the distribution information, which is now supported by maps. The revised general introduction explains how the methods of identifying and recording moths have evolved over recent years with the advent of new technologies and as a result of data analysis.
Description provided by Publisher, accessed through Primo
"In 1973, Anne Kennedy's brother Philip was partying on a hillside when he accidentally fell to his death. Among books and records, Philip left a poem typed in Courier on thick, cream, letter-sized paper...In 'Moth hour,' Anne Kennedy returns to the death of her brother and the world he inhabited, writing 'Thirty-three transformations on a theme of Philip' and concluding with a longer poem, 'The Thé'"--Publisher's website. Source: National Library of New Zealand Te Puna Matauranga o Aotearoa, licensed by the Department of Internal Affairs for re-use under the Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 New Zealand Licence.
Description provided by Publisher, accessed through Primo
This welcome addition to Iowa's popular series of laminated guides-the twenty-seventh in the series-illustrates fifty-one species commonly found in the Upper Midwest states of Illinois, Iowa, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, and Wisconsin. The Saturniid, or Giant Silk moths, are well named. Their large size-up to 6.5 inches for the cecropia moth-and the soft silky browns, greens, and oranges of their wings are unforgettable when they appear at a lighted window at night. Equally well named are the Sphinx or Hawk moths, important pollinators that hover like hummingbirds when nectar-feeding at dusk and even in daylight. The caterpillars of both families can be just as distinctive as the adults, as anyone who has ever come upon a tobacco or a tomato hornworm can attest. For each species the authors have included common and scientific names, wingspan, and time of flight for the adults at this final stage in their life cycle. Striking photographs of the adult moths and of their larval stages make this guide as beautiful as it is useful. For all naturalists captivated by the clear window eyespots of a Swallow-tailed Luna moth, the dark eyespots and bright yellow "pupils" of an Io moth, or the extendable proboscis of a White-lined Sphinx moth flitting from one moss rose to another, the photographs and descriptions in Moths in Your Pocket will be an invaluable reference.
Description provided by Publisher, accessed through Primo
A poem by Polish Poet: Bolesław Leśmian (1877–1937)
Marc E. Epstein provides a complete biography of Harrison Gray Dyar, Jr., one of the most influential biologists of the twentieth century. Epstein chronicles Dyar's impressive scientific accomplishments in the field of entomology, as well as his complicated personal life and many eccentricities
Description provided by Publisher, accessed through Primo
Insects boast incredible diversity, and this book treats an important component of the western insect biota that has not been summarized before--moths and their plant relationships. There are about 8,000 named species of moths in our region, and although most are unnoticed by the public, many attract attention when their larvae create economic damage: eating holes in woolens, infesting stored foods, boring into apples, damaging crops and garden plants, or defoliating forests. In contrast to previous North American moth books, this volume discusses and illustrates about 25% of the species in eve.
Description provided by Publisher, accessed through Primo
This book presents topical research from across the globe in the study of the types, ecological significance and control methods of moths. Topics discussed include the moth Steniscadia poliophaea(noctuidae) as as potent enemy of young mahogany trees in Amazonian forests; pest management of the microlepidoptera in fruit production and its economic significance; moth sex-pheromone production; the moth reproductive physiology and natural enemy pressure; sublethal effects of pesticides on exposed moths and their unexposed progen and the genetics of interactions among moths, their host plants and enemies in Crimean oak forests
Description provided by Publisher, accessed through Google Books
In The Blue Moth of Morning, P. C. Vandall by turns acknowledges, embraces and subverts clichés of female relationships, emotions and bodies, exposing the inner tumult women often try to conceal under a thin veneer of aplomb.
Description provided by Publisher, accessed through Primo
Adored for their fairy-like beauty and power of flight, butterflies and moths captivate enthusiasts world-wide. As well as being attractive to watch, these exquisite insects are also of huge biological importance. Not only are they useful pollinators, they also act as scientific 'indicators' of changing levels of light, heat and availability of food. Consequently, some species are the subject of intense study to see how well they are adapting to environmental challenges. This book has a photographic reference section that covers the life cycle of these creatures, with detailed descriptions of internal anatomy and the powerful structure of their wings. There is information on classification, as well as close-up anatomical images. A geographical directory profiles over 565 of the world's best-loved and most intriguing butterflies, moths, and their caterpillars, with each entry containing identification notes and quick-reference panels on distribution, habitat, food, and wingspan. Butterflies are immensely variable and some have evolved physical traits to adapt to their habitat or ward off predators.
Description provided by Publisher, accessed through Primo
Helena María Viramontes' acclaimed debut story collection exploring the social, economic and cultural impositions that shape women's lives is now available in a new bilingual edition that contains a first-ever Spanish translation.
Description provided by Publisher, accessed through Primo
