Research Guides: PSYC 2306 SO: Websites

General

18 Ways to Make a Baby (NOVA PBS)
Topics include types of human reproduction (such as various types of artificial insemination and in vitro fertilization), human cloning, fertility throughout life, and animations about how cells divide (mitosis and meiosis).

more...
Abstinence Clearinghouse
"The Abstinence Clearinghouse is a non-profit national educational organization that promotes the appreciation for and practice of sexual abstinence." Sections for teens, teachers, and parents, and links to articles are presented.
American Social Hygiene Posters 1919-1970 (Univ. of Minnesota Libraries)
A searchable and browsable database of posters on a variety of social issues such as dance, family, hygiene, mental health, reproduction, sexual abstinence, and more.
Go Ask Alice!
Ask Alice about sexuality, sexual health, relationships, alcohol, drugs, stress, and more. Questions submitted anonymously and answered publicly by Columbia University's Health Education since 1993.
Straight Spouse Network
The goals of this organization are to "expand visibility and support for current or former straight spouses/partners of gay, lesbian, bisexual, or transgender mates and for mixed-orientation couples" and to provide resources to foster understanding. The site features suggested reading lists, a directory of local organizations, discussion forums, and links to related sites.

Adolescent Sexuality

Healthy Teen Network
information on a variety of health and social issues related to pregnant teenagers, teen fathers, and teen sexual behavior. Includes directories of organizations, publications, and links to online resources.

more...

Gender Identity

World Professional Association for Transgender Health
The Association is devoted to the understanding and treatment of gender identity disorders, and provides opportunities for scientific interchange. It develops and publishes Standards of Care for the treatment of gender identity disorders.
Gender and Education Association
Access to, and support from, a feminist network through, for example, email lists, day seminars and conferences, and regional meetings

Sexual Abuse & Violence

Association for the Treatment of Sexual Abusers (ATSA)
A non-profit organization's mission to foster research and facilitate information exchange. Specifically focused on the prevention of sexual abuse through effective management of sex offenders.
FaithTrust Institute
FaithTrust Institute is a national, multifaith, multicultural training and education organization with global reach working to end sexual and domestic violence.
National Center on Domestic and Sexual Violence
Our organization helps a myriad of professionals who work with victims and perpetrators; law enforcement; criminal justice professionals such as prosecutors, judges and probation officers; health care professionals including emergency response teams, nurses and doctors; domestic violence and sexual assault advocates and service providers; and counselors and social workers.

Sexual Ethics

Ethical Prinicples of Psychologists and Code of Conduct (APA)
A Guide to Sexual Ethics (St. Olaf's College)
A global resource for the study of ethics. Maintained by the St. Olaf College community and friends
Buddhist Sexual Ethics
Introduction to Jewish Sexual Ethics (Brandeis University)
Here, you can learn about the ancient rabbinic texts on which many Jews base their lives today through essays on: rabbinic laws that regulate gender segregation, rabbinic thinking on female homoeroticism, and rabbinic thinking on same-sex marriage.
Muslim Sexual Ethics
From Brandeis University. See essays, articles, literature reviews, and web links on topics such as marriage contracts, divorce, veiling, same-sex sexual activity, and honor killings.
Professional Sexual Ethics: a holistic ministry (Project Muse)
See a selection of essays on sexual ethics within professional ministries.
Sexual Ethics - Ethical Issues in Human Sexuality
Listing of books on sexual ethics from EthicsWeb Bookstore (non-profit)
Summary of Catholic Sexual Ethics
See a short summary of sexual ethics as advocated by the Catholic Church
United Methodist Church - Sexual Ethics
Raising awareness, preventing sexual abuse, promoting healthy boundaries, bringing about justice and healing

Sexual Orientation

American Academy of Family Physicians' Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Information
See links to external websites from a variety of organizations
Association for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgender Issues in Counseling
Provides networking and support for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgendered psychiatrists plus education and advocacy on GLBT mental health issues.
APA Division 44 - Society for the Psychological Study of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Issues
Psychology's focal point for research, practice, and education on the lives and realities of LGBT people

Sexuality & College Students

Gender & Equality Center (University of Oklahoma Student Life)
The mission of the OU Gender + Equality Center is to foster social justice by advocating for the rights of women and LGBTQ students, empowering those without a voice, and challenging inequality.
College Health: Sexual Health (Center for Young Women's Health)
Information on gynecology, sexual assault and rape, and emotional health.
Gender and Sexuality Center (Carleton College)
Offers resources and support for women's, men's and lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues.

Sexuality & Disability

Education and Research from the Sexual Health Clinic (MD Anderson Cancer Center)
See information on education and research on Sexual Health affected by cancer.
Sexual Dysfunction and Spinal Cord Injury (UAB Medicine)
See links to videos and consumer guides on sexual dysfunction for those with spinal cord injury

Sexual & Reproductive Health

Go Ask Alice! (Columbia University)
Ask Alice about sexuality, sexual health, relationships, alcohol, drugs, stress, and more. Questions submitted anonymously and answered publicly by Columbia University's Health Education program
Sexually Transmitted Infections (STI) (National Institute of Health)
Includes information on symptoms, diagnoses, treatments, and research about numerous sexually transmitted infections

Rape

All too familiar: Sexual Abuse of Women in U.S. State Prisons
A 1996 report from Human Rights Watch
No Escape: Male Rape in U.S. Prisons
A report from Human Rights Watch
Sexual Violence and Accountability Project
Several research papers from UC-Berkeley
Sexual Violence Statistics
From The Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network

Rape Centers

1. The Rape Center

The center offer free and confidential services with a wide range of accommodations to bridge language and travel barriers.

2. The Turning Point Rape Center Provides counseling, education, and advocacy for those impacted by sexual violence.

3. The Women’s Center Rape Crisis and Victim Services Mission: Inspire, teach and empower women and families to overcome violence, crisis and poverty.

Medical Websites

MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
WebMD
WebMD provides valuable health information, tools for managing your health, and support to those who seek information. You can trust that our content is timely and credible.

Open Access Websites

CDC - Sexually Transmitted Diseases
The CDC is one of the major operating components of the Department of Health and Human Services.
Planned Parenthood
Planned Parenthood is a respected leader in educating Americans about reproductive and sexual health.
Psychology Today - Sex
Commentary, research and news that cover all aspects of human behavior.
Science Daily : Sex Education
Read today's psychology research on relationships, happiness, memory, behavioral problems, dreams and more.
Simply Psychology - Psychosexual Stages
Simply Psychology has been designed to help psychology students on all levels of academic courses, from A-level to degree.