Research Guides: BIOL 2421 Microbiology Unknown SE: Ebooks

Recommended Ebooks

Below are some selected ebooks and quick reference guides that will assist you with BIOL 2420 concepts.

Antimicrobial Resistance and Food Safety by Chin-Yi Chen (Editor); Xianghe Yan (Editor); Charlene R. Jackson (Editor)
Antimicrobial Resistance and Food Safety: Methods and Techniques introduces antimicrobial resistant food-borne pathogens, their surveillance and epidemiology, emerging resistance and resistant pathogens.
Bacteria: The Benign, the Bad, and the Beautiful by Trudy M. Wassenaar
Bacteria: The Benign, the Bad, and the Beautiful introduces you to this diverse, microscopic world and explains the fundamental microbiological concepts you need to explore the life and behavior of bacteria.
Bacteria and Viruses by Kara Rogers
This penetrating volume takes readers under the lens of a microscope to explore the structure, nature, and role of both bacteria and viruses as well as all other aspects of microbiology.
Basic Medical Microbiology by Patrick R. Murray
Basic Medical Microbiology was designed as a straight-forward, practical introduction to this difficult topic. It provides students with a firm foundation in the principles and applications of microbiology, serving as an effective prep tool for examinations and the transition into clinical application.
A Concise Manual of Pathogenic Microbiology by Saroj K. Mishra; Dipti Agrawal
A quick, concise reference to pathogenic microorganisms and the diseases they cause, this book is divided into specific groups of pathogenic microorganisms, including bacteria, protozoa, fungi, viruses, and prions.
Essential Microbiology by Stuart Hogg
Essential Microbiology 2nd Edition is a fully revised comprehensive introductory text that provides an ideal entry into the world of microorganisms, considering all aspects of their biology (structure, metabolism, genetics), and illustrates the remarkable diversity of microbial life.
Fighting Infectious Diseases by Justin Healey
Food Microbiology by Kalmia E. Kniel; Thomas J. Montville; Karl R. Matthews
Presents all facets of food microbiology to undergraduates.
A Guide to Cyanobacteria by Mark A. Nienaber; Miriam Steinitz-Kannan
Written for nonspecialists in a clear and straightforward style, this guide will help students, landowners, and citizen scientists identify different kinds of cyanobacteria and understand their impact on waterways, from neighborhood lakes and farm ponds to major river systems.
Handbook of Cyanobacteria by T. A. Sarma
This handbook acquaints readers with the exciting developments in various areas of cyanobacterial research.
The Infectious Microbe by William Firshein
In this lively discussion of pathogenicity, William Firshein reveals the fascinating scientific relationship between human and microbe, and shows us how humanity can live with microorganisms.
Introduction to Modern Virology by Nigel J. Dimmock; Andrew J. Easton; Keith N. Leppard
Praised for its clarity of presentation and accessibility, Introduction to Modern Virology has been a successful student text for over 30 years. It provides a broad introduction to virology, which includes the nature of viruses, the interaction of viruses with their hosts and the consequences of those interactions that lead to the diseases we see today.
Lactic Acid Bacteria: Biodiversity and Taxonomy by Wilhelm H. Holzapfel (Editor); Brian J.B. Wood (Editor)
The lactic acid bacteria (LAB) are a group of related micro-organisms that are enormously important in the food and beverage industries.
Microbiology by BarCharts
Quick reference guide
Microbiology and Infectious Diseases on the Move by Thomas Locke; Sally Keat; Andrew Walker; Rory Mackinnon; R. C. Read
On Pandemics: Deadly Diseases from Bubonic Plague to Coronavirus by David Waltner-Toews
Authored by a leading epidemiologist, this engrossing book answers our questions about animal diseases that jump to humans--called zoonoses--including what attracts them to humans, why they have become more common in recent history, and how we can keep them at bay.
Practical Atlas for Bacterial Identification by D. Roy Cullimore
Published nearly ten years ago, the first edition of Practical Atlas for Bacterial Identification broke new ground with the wealth of detail and breadth of information it provided. The second edition is poised to do the same. Differing fundamentally from the first edition, this book begins by introducing the concept of bacteria community intelligen
Superbugs: An Arms Race Against Bacteria by William Hall
The problem of drug resistance already kills over one million people across the world every year and has huge economic costs. Without action, this problem will become significantly worse. This book outlines the major systematic failures that have led to this growing crisis. They also provide a set of solutions to tackle these global issues that governments, industry, and public health specialists can adopt.
Tapeworms, Lice, and Prions: A Compendium of Unusual Infections by David Grove
In this compendium of the curious and fascinating organisms that cause disease, David I. Grove provides a lively, fact-filled account of the nature of each organism, their life cycle, the ingenious ways in which they infect humans, and the human stories behind their discovery.
Understanding Microbes by Jeremy W. Dale
Understanding Microbes provides a clear, accessible introduction to the world of microbes. As well as looking at a selection of infectious diseases, including how they are prevented and treated, the book explores the importance of microbes in the environment, in the production and preservation of food, and their applications in biotechnology.
Viruses by Michael G. Cordingley
Synthesizing a large body of recent research, Michael Cordingley goes beyond our familiarity with viral infections to show how viruses spur evolutionary change in their hosts, shape global ecosystems, and influence every domain of life.
Viruses: More Friends Than Foes by Karin Moelling
Well-known virologist and cancer researcher Karin Moelling describes surprising insights about a completely new and unexpected world of viruses.

Using the Library Catalog

To search for ebooks:

Go to the TCC Library homepage
Use the TCC Catalog and select Ebooks
Enter search keywords like the subject you're interested in, title, author, etc.
When you find the ebook you need, click Available Online to open it
Log in with your myTCC username and password if prompted

Follow these steps to search for ebooks.

Once you find the book you need, click Available Online to open it.

To search in EBSCOhost or ProQuest Ebook Central:

Click the Alphabetical List of Databases dropdown
Select Ebook Central from ProQuest OR eBook Collection from EBSCOhost

Choosing Keywords

When choosing the terms you will use to search for books, remember to keep your terms general and just pick out key concepts. Save specific searches for article databases. For example, if I wanted to know about food poisoning caused by E. coli, I might just search on "E. coli infection" or maybe E. coli AND food.