Looking for a new recipe for your grill or BBQ smoker? Check out these books from the TCC libraries!
In Black Smoke, Adrian Miller chronicles how Black barbecuers, pitmasters, and restauranteurs helped develop this cornerstone of American foodways and how they are coming into their own today. It's a smoke-filled story of Black perseverance, culinary innovation, and entrepreneurship. Though often pushed to the margins, African Americans have enriched a barbecue culture that has come to be embraced by all. Miller celebrates and restores the faces and stories of the men and women who have influenced this American cuisine. This beautifully illustrated chronicle also features 22 barbecue recipes collected just for this book.
This is the definitive guide to the concepts, methods, equipment, and accessories of barbecue and grilling. The founder and editor of the world's most popular BBQ and grilling website, AmazingRibs.com, and a BBQ Hall of Fame member, "Meathead" Goldwyn applies the latest research to backyard cooking and 118 thoroughly tested recipes. He explains why dry brining is better than wet brining; how marinades really work; why rubs shouldn't have salt in them; how heat and temperature differ; the importance of digital thermometers; why searing doesn't seal in juices; how salt penetrates but spices don't; when charcoal beats gas and when gas beats charcoal; how to calibrate and tune a grill or smoker; how to keep fish from sticking; cooking with logs; the strengths and weaknesses of the new pellet cookers; tricks for rotisserie cooking; why cooking whole animals is a bad idea, which grill grates are best;and why beer-can chicken is a waste of good beer and nowhere close to the best way to cook a bird. He shatters the myths that stand in the way of perfection.
When Helen Willinsky first published her classic Jamaican barbecue cookbook, "jerk" was a fightin' word to most people outside the Caribbean Islands. Not anymore. In love with fire and spice, barbecue fans and food lovers of all stripes have discovered the addictive flavors of Jamaican jerk seasoning and Caribbean cooking in general. Newly revised and bursting with island color, Helen's book provides a friendly introduction to this increasingly popular way to season and prepare meat, chicken, and fish. Rounded off with simple and authentic recipes for sides, drinks, and desserts, JERK FROM JAMAICA is a complete backyard guide to grilling and eating island-style. An updated, expanded, and repackaged version of the only authentic Jamaican jerk barbecue book, featuring chicken, pork, beef, lamb, goat, seafood, and more. Includes more than 100 recipes, with a dozen new ones from the author and other Jamaican food mavens like Enid Donaldson and the Busha Browne Company, plus a new foreword from Jamaican cookbook author Virginia Burke. Contains 50 full-color photos, both styled food and on-location shots from the markets and jerk pits of Jamaica.
The debut title in the Anthony Bourdain Books line, The Prophets of Smoked Meat by "Barbecue Snob" Daniel Vaughn, author of the enormously popular blog Full Custom Gospel BBQ, is a rollicking journey through the heart of Texas Barbecue. From brisket to ribs, beef to pork, mesquite to oak, this fully illustrated, comprehensive guide to Texas barbecue includes pit masters' recipes, tales of the road--from country meat markets to roadside stands, sumptuous photography, and a panoramic look at the Lone Star State, where smoked meat is sacred.
Authentic, easy-to-prepare Texas beef and BBQ recipes from Baseball Hall of Famer and cattle rancher Nolan Ryan. Legendary pitcher Nolan Ryan grew up in Texas and early on developed a passion for cattle ranching that rivaled his interest in baseball. His first cookbook offers 75 recipes for sizzling T-bone and rib-eye steaks, mouthwatering burgers, slow-cooked barbecue ribs, and more. Working with chef Cristobal Vazquez, Nolan presents a fresh take on the Tex-Mex standards of his childhood. The book includes family recipes for Sunday roasts and brisket, savory side dishes, and a few favorite desserts as well, including Ruth Ryan's Special Occasion Carrot Cake. In the accompanying texts Nolan shares his love of the food of the Southwest and the lessons he's learned in a remarkable career in baseball and in cattle ranching.
When Aaron Franklin and his wife, Stacy, opened up a small barbecue trailer on the side of an Austin, Texas, interstate in 2009, they had no idea what they'd gotten themselves into. Today, Franklin Barbecue has grown into the most popular, critically lauded, and obsessed-over barbecue joint in the country (if not the world)--and Franklin is the winner of every major barbecue award there is. In this much-anticipated debut, Franklin and coauthor Jordan Mackay unlock the secrets behind truly great barbecue, and share years' worth of hard-won knowledge. Franklin Barbecue is a definitive resource for the backyard pitmaster, with chapters dedicated to building or customizing your own smoker; finding and curing the right wood; creating and tending perfect fires; sourcing top-quality meat; and of course, cooking mind-blowing, ridiculously delicious barbecue, better than you ever thought possible.
In Serious Barbecue, Adam Perry Lang has translated his intimate understanding of culinary technique into easy-to-follow advice to help a nation of backyard cooks unleash the raw power of one of the most flavor-packed cuisines around: American barbecue. Perry Lang begins by breaking down the fundamentals of barbecue--what tools you'll need to begin, how to master cooking with charcoal and wood, how to choose the perfect grill, and more. Then he takes readers on a trip through the butcher's case, describing exactly what makes each kind of meat special, explaining how to select with the skill of a master, and providing his favorite recipes for almost every available cut of pork, beef, veal, lamb, chicken, and turkey. These original, mouthwatering recipes, which include step-by-step seasoning instructions and a flip-by-flip grilling or smoking guide, will have amateur and expert cooks firing up their barbecues and enjoying perfect results every time--whether they're impressing a group of friends with Perry Lang's insanely delicious Salt and Pepper Dry-Aged Cowboy-Cut Rib Eye or wowing half the neighborhood with his massive, slow-cooking, succulent "Get a Book" Whole Pork Shoulder. Whatever the recipe, his goal is for everyone to achieve the holy grail of barbecuing: bragging rights.
Southern barbecue and barbecue traditions are the focus of Cornbread Nation 2, our second collection of the best of Southern food writing. ""Barbecue is the closest thing we have in the United States to Europe's wines or cheeses; drive a hundred miles and the barbecue changes,"" writes John Shelton Reed. Indeed, no other dish is served a dozen different ways just between Memphis and Birmingham. In tribute to what Vince Staten calls ""the slowest of the slow foods,"" contributors discuss the politics, sociology, and virtual religion of barbecue in the South, where communities are defined by what wood they burn, what sauce they make, and what they serve with barbecue. Jim Auchmutey links barbecue to the success of certain Southern politicians; Marcie Cohen Ferris looks at kosher brisket; and Robb Walsh investigates why black cooks have been omitted from the accepted histories of Texas barbecue, despite their central role in its development. Beyond the barbecue pit, John Martin Taylor sings the virtues of boiled peanuts, Calvin Trillin savors Cajun boudin, and Eddie Dean revisits his days driving an ice cream truck deep in the Appalachian Mountains. From barbecue to scuppernongs to popsicles, the forty-three newspaper columns, magazine pieces, poems, and essays collected here confirm that a bounty of good writing exists when it comes to good eating, Southern style.
Smoker Cookbook: Texas BBQ The Art of Making Texas BBQ for Real Pitmasters, Complete Smoker Cookbook for Irresistible Barbecue by Roger Murphy! The complete how-to guide for smoking pork, beef, fish, poultry, and other food. The book is written for mastering the low and slow art of smoking meats at your home. An essential cookbook for beginners who want to smoke food without needing expert help from others. You can find in this cookbook such delicate recipes as; HOT N' SPICY SMOKED TEXAS BEEF BRISKET GRILLED TUNA WITH CHILI LIME TEXAS MARINADE SWEET AND SPICY SOUTHWESTERN PORK LOINGRILLED BUFFALO WINGS TEXAS-STYLE TEXAN BBQ SPICY SHRIMP This book offers detailed guidance obtained by years of smoking meat, includes clear instructions and step-by-step directions for every recipe, also it includes full-color photographs of every finished meal to make your job easier. Where there is a smoke, there is a flavor. Smoking is something has withstood the test of time, it will continue to stand the test of time for years to come. The only guide you will ever need to professionally smoke a variety of food!
Summertime--and the outdoor entertaining is easy! Fire up the grill, whip up some sides and sweets, and share these simple, delicious dishes with people you love. The festive menus include a Mexican Grill Party with a whole chipotle chicken; a Father's Day Barbecue, featuring Campari melon crush, strip steak, red beet gratin, and cabbage salad; a Beach Buffet that includes veggies with spiced yogurt dip and a bread omelet with grapes and gorgonzola; along with picnics, pizza parties, lunches, brunches, and a chic cocktail party. Filled with cooking tips and ideas for marinades, rubs, butters, sauces, salsas, and more, The Summer Table invites you to enjoy the season's best.
When it comes to cooking and eating outdoors, I take it to the extreme. I'm a huge fan of monster-size camping trips and full-tilt backyard parties. Whether you're hosting a poolside barbecue, relaxing around the campfire, or tailgating on game day, my favorite outdoor recipes are guaranteed to get your grill going. Deliver a taste of Flavortown in your own backyard with Bacon Wrapped Hot Dogs with Spicy Fruit Relish or Crispy Zucchini Planks with Parmesan and Aioli. Take your tailgating party to the extreme with Asian-Style Fried Chicken and Spicy Cracked Chile Crab. Turn up the heat at the lake with Chorizo and Polenta Casserole and Chipotle Corn Salad with Grilled Bacon. Rock the campground with Smoked Salmon Hash and Old School Baked Beans with Molasses. And celebrate the holidays with Fire-Roasted Margherita Pizza and Brandied Green Peppercorn Hanger Steak.
In The Tex-Mex Grill and Backyard Barbacoa Cookbook renowned Texas food writer and James Beard Award winner Robb Walsh showcases the full spectrum of outdoor cooking in Texas and Northern Mexico in his unique style, with photos and 85 easy-to-follow recipes. The smoky and spicy flavors of the Tex-Mex grill evolved from the culture of the Latino cattlemen. Walsh traces the history of grilling in the border region and provides a handbook of techniques, step by step photos, and interviews with legendary Tex-Mex chefs. Here are all their recipes and more for grilled meats and seafood adapted for the backyard barbecue, along with the frijoles and side dishes, picante salsas, and festive tequila cocktails that fill out the fiesta.
This combination of two popular food trendsAsian and grillingby Corinne Trang, the "Julia Child of Asian cuisine" (Washington Post), makes it easy to turn an ordinary backyard barbecue into an authentic Asian grill. Here she guides readers through the foundations of classic Asian cooking and the exciting array of herbs and spices used, enabling anyone who understands the basics of grilling to discover original taste and texture combinations. Corinne reveals the secrets of the five flavor notessweet, sour, salty, bitter, spicyand with simple techniques, she expands the griller's repertoire with a whole new range of marinades and flavor-rich dishes. The 80 recipes for condiments, flatbreads, veggies, fish, meats, sweets, and drinks are supplemented with prepping and grilling tips, ingredient sources and appropriate substitutions, and advice on stocking an Asian pantry. The lovely color photos and step-by-step instructions make discovering the yin-yang balance of texture, flavor, and color an easy and fun culinary adventure, with plenty of Asian flair.
In Texas and throughout the South, myriad barbecue joints claim the title of "best barbecue." Many barbecue enthusiasts would nearly fight to the death to defend their favorite, and the Salt Lick is certainly a contender. But Salt Lick owner Scott Roberts doesn't care about that. He's more interested in the smiles on his customers' faces as they leave the restaurant. With more than 600,000 customers served each year, he may be onto something. That's because Roberts is building on the foundation his family laid down more than 130 years ago, as his great-grandparents made their long journey to Texas. On the trail, they prepared food and cooked meat in ways that preserved it. Roberts keeps those techniques because they are simple and proven. His great-grandparents settled in Driftwood in the 1870s, and his grandparents farmed the land and were sustained by its bounty. They helped raise Roberts and instilled in him a love of the rural way of life. This is not a book just about Salt Lick barbecue. It's about how the barbecue came to be: a story of respect for the land, its history, and the family that planted its roots in Driftwood and cultivated a well-deserved reputation.