Skip to Main Content

Texas Academy of Biomedical Sciences (TR) Research Overview: Find Library Materials

This guide provides an overview of information literacy and research concepts for TABS students.

TCC Catalog Search

TCC Catalog Search on the library homepage is the best tool to use to find books, e-books, and DVDs. Try your search here:

 

 

Select "In the Library" from the drop-down menu to limit your search to books, movies, and audiobooks that live in one of our TCC campus libraries. 

Select "Ebooks" from the drop-down menu if you'd prefer to get a list of electronic books that you can read online or download to your device.

Catalog Search Tips

TCC Catalog search box with text entered: habits of successful college students. Search parameters set to

Enter your keywords and select where to search

Make sure you select the best search for your needs: 

  • All available collections gets print and electronic books, magazine, journal, & newspaper articles, as well as DVDs and online resource guides.
  • In the Library gets only books and e-books, as well as DVDs and audiobooks that live in the library.
  • Article Databases gets only magazine and journal articles from select library databases. (Not all available databases are included in this search)

Catalog search results showing filter options on the left and 3 items on the right. One book, one e-book, and one article.

Filter your results to narrow down your options

On the left hand side you will find many options by which to refine your results. You can refine by:

  • availability of items such as full-text online articles, electronic books, or print books that are available in your campus library
  • resource type allows you to focus on one type of article
  • date in case you need only very new or very old material
  • subject to help you be more specific
  • collection to limit to a certain campus or database

The options shown will vary depending on your search.

Top three catalog results for keyword search on

Find the item you need

Each entry in the list of results includes information about the title, author, format, and availability of the item. 

  • Online access indicates that this item is an electronic book. Click the green link for access.
  • Available at indicates that this item is a book or DVD that we own in one or more of our physical libraries. Write down the call number to find the book on the shelf. 
  • Full text available indicates that this is an article from one of our electronic databases.  Click the green link for access.  

To view more information about a particular item in your search, simply select the title to find out:

  • if other campus libraries also have a copy of the item
  • other versions or editions that might be available
  • if you can place a hold on the item or have it sent to your campus

Books or Articles?

 

female student looking off to the side as if to ask a question

What is the best source to use for my research? 

  • Books are good for a broad overview, when you want to add depth, when your topic is historical, or you want to see how it relates to other important issues.
  • Articles are good when your topic is somewhat narrow, fairly recent, or is in a subject where things change often. Articles are the best place to find original research on topics in science and medicine.
  • Websites and newspapers provide up-to-the minute news and information
    about current events, trends, and controversial topics but are often not allowed in academic research so be cautious.