Research Guides: BIOL 1408 Ertle SE: Online Study Guides

Recommended Ebooks

Below are some selected ebooks and quick reference guides that will assist you with BIOL 1408 concepts. You can work through these books on your computer or another device any time you want to study.

50 Biology Ideas You Really Need to Know by J.V. Chamaray
Also in print at SE Campus, Call Number: QH309 C43 2015
Basics in Human Evolution by Michael P. Muehlenbein (Editor)
Written for a non-expert audience, this book fills gaps in the readers' knowledge from various backgrounds and introduces them to thought leaders in human evolution research.
Biology by BarCharts
Quick reference guide
Biology: A Self-Teaching Guide by Steven D. Garber
For students preparing for exams or individuals who want to review material from years past, the step-by-step format is designed to help students and teachers alike easily understand complex concepts, key terms, and frequently asked questions.
Biology Essentials for Dummies by Rene Fester Kratz; Donna Rae Siegfried
From identifying the structures and functions of plants and animals to grasping the crucial discoveries in evolutionary, reproductive, and ecological biology, this easy-to-follow guide lets you skip the suffering and score high at exam time.
Biology Success in 20 Minutes a Day by LearningExpress Staff
You will need to create a free Learning Express account to access
Biology Super Review by Research and Education Association Editors
Comprehensive coverage covers the material that students must know about biology. Each topic is presented in a clear and easy-to-understand format that makes learning easier.
BIOS Instant Notes in Genetics by Hugh Fletcher; Ivor Hickey
BIOS Instant Notes in Genetics, Fourth Edition, is the perfect text for undergraduates looking for a concise introduction to the subject, or a study guide to use before examinations.
Cell Biology and Genetics by Rathoure; Ashok Kumar & Srivastava; Meena
Cell Biology and Genetics covers a wide area of cell biology and Mendelian genetics in a form especially suitable for first-year undergraduates. The overall theme for the book is the cell as the unit of life and its components.
DNA Demystified by Alan McHughen
Alan McHughen, an accomplished academic and public science advocate, brings the reader up-to-speed on what we know, what we don't, and where genetic technologies are taking us.
Encyclopedia of Evolution
Contains hundreds of entries that span modern evolutionary science and the history of its development. This comprehensive volume clarifies many common misconceptions about evolution, including whether the process of evolution has been observed; biological evidence from DNA; and whether any "missing links" have been found.
Everything You Need to Know about Cell Division
High School Biology Unlocked by Princeton Review Staff
Review high school biology content
Tools for Critical Thinking in Biology by Stephen H. Jenkins
Textbook for non-science majors

Library Databases

If you need to research any BIOL 1408 topics, the following library databases may be helpful. If you have any questions, please Ask a Librarian!

Gale Academic OneFile: Biology Topics: Includes the Gale Encyclopedia of Science, academic journals, magazines, images, and news
Academic Search Complete: Journal articles, videos, images, magazines
Credo Reference: Ebooks and encyclopedia articles. A good place for short explanations of topics and concepts.
Gale in Context: College: General biology topic collections such as cells and genetics
Gale in Context: Science: Includes journal articles, videos, news, images, encyclopedia articles, and experiments for each topic. A selection of topics is below. Topics are added and updated regularly.
Health and Wellness from Gale: Includes journal articles, videos, news, images, and encyclopedia articles for each health topic. Topics are added and updated regularly.
ProQuest: Journal articles, news, ebooks, videos
Science & Technology Collection: journal articles

Practice Tests, More Ebooks, and Tutorials

Below are two library databases with very helpful practice tests, tutorials, and more ebooks for biology.

LearningExpress Library 3.0 This link opens in a new window
TexShare

You will need to set up a free account to use all the features in LearningExpress. There are several types of biology practice:

Ebooks:
- AP Biology Flash Review
- Biology Success in 20 Minutes a Day
Tutorial: The Basics of Biology
Practice Tests with explanations
- AP Biology Practice Exams 1 & 2
- Cell Biology Practices 1 & 2
- CLEP Biology Practice Exams 1 & 2

Mometrix Test Preparation This link opens in a new window
TCCD

You will have to search within Mometrix for study materials, but it is well worth the effort!

Mometrix Academy: Click the link to Mometrix Academy on the left side of the Mometrix homepage and scroll down to the Subject Review section. The Biology Review has video tutorials on various concepts.
Search Box: Use the search box at the top of the main Mometrix page to find ebooks, practice tests, and online flashcards.