Research Guides: BIOL 1408 Ertle SE: Print Study Guides

Recommended Print Books

The following selection of print study guides may be helpful for you in BIOL 1408. The only difference between a print book and an ebook is the format, so choose whichever format works better for you.

50 Biology Ideas You Really Need to Know by J.V. Chamaray
Also in print at SE Campus, Call Number: QH309 C43 2015
500 College Biology Questions: Ace Your College Exams by Robert Stanley Stewart
Call Number: QH316 .S748 2015
Coverage of all the essential topics presented as 500 AP-style questions with detailed answer explanations.
Biology for Dummies by Rene Fester Kratz
Call Number: QH307.2 .S54 2017
From molecules to animals, cells to ecosystems, Biology For Dummies answers all your questions about how living things work. Written in plain English and packed with dozens of enlightening illustrations, this reference guide covers the most recent developments and discoveries in evolutionary, reproductive, and ecological biology.
The Cartoon Guide to Biology by Larry Gonick; David Wessner
Call Number: QH309 .G676 2019
From New York Times bestselling author Larry Gonick and Davidson College biology professor David Wessner comes this comprehensive and humorous cartoon guide to topics in biology. From the inner workings of the cell, to the magic of gene expression, to the Krebs and Calvin cycles, to sexual and asexual reproduction, The Cartoon Guide to Biology uses simple, clear, humorous illustrations to make biology's most complex concepts understandable and entertaining.
The Cell: Discovering the Microscopic World that Determines Our Health, Our Consciousness, and Our Future by Joshua Z. Rappoport
Call Number: QH441.5 .R37 2017
The Cell: Inside the Microscopic World that Determines Our Health, Our Consciousness, and Our Future is a fascinating story of the incredible complexity and dynamism inside the cell and of the fantastic advancements in our understanding of this microscopic world.
CliffsNotes Biology Quick Review by Kellie Ploeger Cox
Call Number: QH315.5 .C69 2015
CliffsNotes Biology Quick Review, Second Edition, provides a clear, concise, easy-to-use review of biology basics, making it perfect for high school and college students, or anyone wanting to brush up on biology knowledge.
DNA Technology: A Reference Handbook by David E. Newton
Call Number: QH442 .N465 2017
DNA Technology: A Reference Handbook provides an up-to-date historical overview and general technical background to the topic as well as a broad introduction to current issues related to the development of DNA technology, such as genetically modified organisms, the use of DNA technology in the forensic sciences, and genetic testing and genetic therapy.
Easy Biology Step-By-Step by Nichole Vivion
Call Number: QH308.7 .V59 2012
Clear explanation that breaks down complex concepts into easy-to-understand steps that, with the aid of helpful graphics, will enable you to grasp biology essentials.
Genetics 101 by Beth Skwarecki
Call Number: QH437 .S59 2018
Genetics 101 breaks down the science of how genes are inherited and passed from parents to offspring, what DNA is and how it works, how your DNA affects your health, and how you can use your personal genomics to find out more about who you are and where you come from.
Genomics: a Very Short Introduction by John M. Archibald
Call Number: QH447 .A74 2018
In this Very Short Introduction, John Archibald explores the science of genomics and its rapidly expanding toolbox. Sequencing a human genome now takes only a few days and costs as little as $1,000. The genomes of simple bacteria and viruses can be sequenced in a matter of hours on a device that fits in the palm of your hand. The resulting sequences can be used to better understand our biology in health and disease and to 'personalize' medicine.
Human Genetics: Opposing Viewpoints by Louise I. Gerdes (Editor)
Call Number: QH447 .H834 2014
This volume explores issues relating to the science of human genetics.
Introducing Genetics by Alison Thomas
Call Number: QH430 .T48 2015
The new edition of Introducing Genetics is a clear, concise, and accessible guide to inheritance and variation in individuals and populations.
Learning about Your Genes: A Primer for Non-biologists by Errol C. Friedberg
Call Number: QH447 .F7535 2019
The genetic code was deciphered in relatively recent years and is considered one of the most significant discoveries in the history of biology. This book was written to help people without a background in biology understand genes.
Schaum's Outline of Biology by George H. Fried; George J. Hademenos
Call Number: QH315.5 .F75 2013
This all-in-one-package includes more than 850 fully solved problems, examples, and practice exercises to sharpen your problem-solving skills--it's just like having your own virtual tutor!

Check Out a Print Book from TCC

The TCC Libraries have many biology books on the shelves ready for you to check out with your TCC ID card. You can also have books from other TCC campuses sent to your home campus for free. Follow the directions below to search for more books.

To Find Print Books in the TCC Library:

1. Begin on the Library homepage at https://library.tccd.edu/

2. Scroll down to the box on the left that says TCC Catalog

3. Select the "In the Library" box

4. Select your home campus or leave the selection as Any Campus

5. Type what you want to find in the search box, such as "genetics" and click the Search button

6. Check the location of your chosen book, and use the call number (Ex: QH437 .H37 2019) to find it on the shelf

7. If the book is not available at your campus, follow the directions below to have the book sent to your campus for free

Request a Book Be Sent to Your Campus

The TCC Libraries share their collection, so you can have any eligible book sent to your home campus for free. It may take several days to transfer the book, so plan ahead.

1. Find a book you want and click the "Sign in" link

2. Click the Request link

3. Select the campus you want to send the book to

4. Click the Send Request link

5. When the book arrives at your chosen campus, you will receive an email in your myTCC email account