Research Guides: HIST 1301 TR Blank: Native Americans in the Fort Worth Area: Find Articles

Databases to Try

History
Multi-Subject

U.S. History : Gale in Context This link opens in a new window
presents information on the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The database contains reference content and articles from full text magazines, academic journals, primary source documents, images, videos, and audio files.
TCCD
Salem Press: Careers, History, Literature and Science This link opens in a new window
Includes the Critical Insights series; Decades, Defining Documents, and Great Events from History series; Science and Careers
TCCD

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
is a digital library of more than 1,500 academic journals, books, and primary sources. JSTOR helps people discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content through a powerful research and teaching platform, and preserves this content for future generations. Includes collections: Arts and Sciences II, Arts and Sciences III, Arts and Sciences V, Arts and Sciences VIII, Arts and Sciences XII, and Life Sciences.
TCCD
Research Library - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
has full-text articles and citiations covering a wide range of academic subjects from journals, magazines, and other types of publications dating from 1971 to the present.
TCCD

Topic: Nathan Hale, American Revolutionary War Spy

Example search:

"Nathan Hale" AND spy
Nathan Hale AND American Revolution
American Revolutionary War Spies

Example results in MLA format for "Works Cited" Page

NEWSPAPER ARTICLE: "Nathan Hale Blundered into a Trap, Papers show." New York Times (1923-Current file): 21 Sept. 2003. ProQuest. Web. 26 Jan. 2015.

MAGAZINE ARTICLE: Gilmore, Jodie. "Washington's Spies." The New American Mar 07 2005: 35-39. ProQuest. Web. 26 Jan. 2015.

JOURNAL ARTICLE: Baker, Mary Beth. "Nathan Hale: The Documents." Connecticut History 45.1 (2006): 134-140. America: History and Life with Full Text. Web. 26 Jan. 2015.

Topic: Andrew Jackson's Indian Wars

Database: ProQuest

Example searches:

"Andrew Jackson" AND "Native Americans"
"Native Americans" AND "Indian Removal Act"

Example results in MLA format for "Works Cited" Page

JOURNAL ARTICLE: Hershberger, Mary. "Mobilizing Women, Anticipating Abolition: The Struggle Against Indian Removal in the 1830s." The Journal of American History 86.1 (1999): 15-40. ProQuest. Web. 11 Jan. 2015.

JOURNAL ARTICLE: Remini, Robert V. "Andrew Jackson Verses the Cherokee Nation." American History 2001: 48-56. ProQuest Research Library. Web. 8 Mar. 2013 .

JOURNAL ARTICLE: John, D. W. Guice. "Jackson's Way: Andrew Jackson and the People of the Western Waters." The Journal of Southern History 68.3 (2002): 690-1. ProQuest Research Library. Web. 8 Mar. 2013.

Video Tip

More Help -- Databases

Search Tips

Magazine and journal articles are found using an online tool called a database. Search the databases to find articles from both primary and secondary sources.

Improve your search by thinking of various keywords that relate to the subject and combine them in an advanced search.

Examples:

"American Revolutionary War"
segregation OR "separate but equal"
Andrew Jackson AND "Indian Removal Act"

The Boolean Machine
The Boolean Machine is a tool for visualizing the effects of Boolean operators on keyword searches. It was created to teach the importance of Boolean operators in effective search strategies.
YouTube Video Tutorial - Phrase Searching
A short YouTube video from North Carolina State University explaining phrase searching.