Databases

Finding Primary Sources in the Databases

Under the heading TCC Article Databases, select Browse Subjects.

Then select History from the drop down menu at the top of the page.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
is a digital library of more than 1,500 academic journals, books, and primary sources. JSTOR helps people discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content through a powerful research and teaching platform, and preserves this content for future generations. Includes collections: Arts and Sciences II, Arts and Sciences III, Arts and Sciences V, Arts and Sciences VIII, Arts and Sciences XII, and Life Sciences.
TCCD
U.S. History : Gale in Context This link opens in a new window
presents information on the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The database contains reference content and articles from full text magazines, academic journals, primary source documents, images, videos, and audio files.
TCCD
Biography : Gale In Context This link opens in a new window
integrates biographies from various sources with related full text articles from hundreds of magazines and newspapers, as well as tens of thousands of images and links to vetted websites.
TCCD
World History : Gale In Context This link opens in a new window
covers hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in World History. The database combines reference content with full text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, and audio files.
TCCD

*If you're accessing the databases from off-campus you'll be asked to log in using your TCC credentials.

Once you've gotten into the database, when looking for a well-known even of issue, select Browse Topics, located on the left.

Then, after selecting a topic, you'll have the option to go straight to a section of primary sources.

Look at the type of article, if a source is a primary source it's often indicated.