Research Guides: SPCH 1311 / SPCH 1315 / SPCH 1321 SO: Finding Images

Getting Images Off the Internet

To enhance the slides in your presentation, you can find images that relate to your topic and add them to appropriate slides. One of the best places to go for this is Google Image Search.

Search by your topic and then view the results of your search.
To use one of the images, roll your mouse over the image on the result list, and look below the image on the box that pops up. You will see the size of the image (ex: 600x460). Choose an image where both of the numbers are larger than 250.
To place the image in PowerPoint, select the image from the result screen.
When the image is on the screen, click with your right mouse button (if using a PC) or (control-right click if using a Mac) on the image to bring up a menu that will allow you to copy or save the image.
Access your PowerPoint presentation and then paste the image or insert it on your slide.

Write down which website the image came from (not google.com but the website the image came from - look to the right of the image to determine this) because you will need to include a citation for your image on your works cited page and this will also be used for the credit line under the image.

Caution should be used when trying to include videos from sites such as YouTube since these frequently do not work well in PowerPoint.

Using Images from the Databases

The TCC Library databases are a great place to find images for your presentation! Many times you can use images that accompany the articles you use for your research. To make a copy of an image from an article in a database, use the right-click method described in the column on the left of this page. There are also a few TCC Library databases that have their own collection of images, sounds and videos that you can use for your PowerPoint presentation. Some of the most popular of these are:

Opposing Viewpoints: Gale In Context This link opens in a new window
consists of a collection of viewpoint articles, topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, and an assortment of multmedia clips from academic journals, magazines, and other types of publications.
TexShare
Science: Gale In Context This link opens in a new window
a collection of full text articles, topic overviews, and experiments from academic journals, magazines, reference books and other types of publications. Also included are videos, images, and other multmedia material.
TexShare
American History in Video This link opens in a new window
makes video available online for the study of American history. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time through various media such as newsreels, home video and television reporting.
TCCD

Crediting Images on Your Presentation

In addition to including a citation for your images on your works cited page, it is good practice to also include a credit line under the image on your presentation. This lets your audience know where you obtained the image. Below you will see an example of a credit line.

Other Sources of Images

Images that you have drawn or taken with a phone/digital camera also work well for presentations. If you have a picture that you need to digitize, most campus Computer Centers have a scanner available for student use.

Clip art from Microsoft is also another option. These can be accessed directly from the PowerPoint application. You will not need to cite clip art images in your works cited page or have a credit line for them on your presentation.