Generally, the best sources for literary criticism are in the reference section of each TCC Campus Library. Literary criticism can be difficult to locate. Knowledgeable librarians are always available to help you in person or online.
Scholarly vs Popular Periodicals
Databases to Help with Literary Criticism Research
includes Contemporary Authors Online, Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online, Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center (LRC), LitFinder, Scribner Writers, and Twayne's Authors in one convenient interface.
provides biography and literary criticism of world-famous writers. The material provided originally appeared in books written or edited by Harold Bloom, the nation's foremost authority on literature criticism.
Literature Resource Center includes Scribner Writers Series Online, Twayne Authors Online, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Authors. LRC contains biographical information, overviews, full text literary criticism and reviews on writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Gale Literature: Book Review Index includes more than 5 million book reviews, allowing users to conduct research in numerous disciplines, including literature, history, education, psychology, and more.
Gale Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
is a digital library of more than 1,500 academic journals, books, and primary sources. JSTOR helps people discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content through a powerful research and teaching platform, and preserves this content for future generations. Includes collections: Arts and Sciences II, Arts and Sciences III, Arts and Sciences V, Arts and Sciences VIII, Arts and Sciences XII, and Life Sciences.
ProQuest One Psychology is a broad, user-friendly resource designed to support the unique needs of of psychology and counseling in research, teaching, and learning. Content is organized to align with how psychology faculty and students approach common assignments, research questions, and methodologies.
integrates biographies from various sources with related full text articles from hundreds of magazines and newspapers, as well as tens of thousands of images and links to vetted websites.
offers full page and article images with searchable full text from the New York Times dating back to the 19th century. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Gale OneFile: U.S. History provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. Updated daily, thie library resource offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work being established in the field.
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface.
presents information on the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The database contains reference content and articles from full text magazines, academic journals, primary source documents, images, videos, and audio files.
