Skip to main content

BUSG 2300 SO Dickey: Finding Journal Articles

Business Video for Mobile Devices

This is an .m4v video that uses the Quicktime player and is viewable on the iphone.

Searching Library Databases

There are a variety of databases to which the TCC libraries subscribe in which you can search for business and economics journal articles.

The full list of Business, Computer and Economics databases can be found here.

Search Strategies

To formulate your database search, think about your topic carefully. Ask yourself the following:

What is the most concise word or words I can use to describe my topic?

Are there any other words that mean the same thing?

Do I need to add any words to my search to make my topic more clear to the computer? For example using the search phrase : "soft drink" and marketing indicates to the database software that you want articles on the marketing of soft drinks. Using the search phrase: "soft drink" and industry indicates to the database software that you want articles on the manufacturing and industrial aspects of soft drinks.

Boolean Operators:

Boolean operators are essentially command words to the database. The words "and," "or," and "not" are boolean operators when used in a database search. Since these three words are common enough to turn up in just about every article in a database, the database software sees these words in a search string as specific commands.

  • The "and" command indicates to the database software that you want to retrieve articles that contain the words on either side of the word "and" in the search string.
  • The "or" command indicates to the database software that you want to retrieve articles that contain either of the words separated by "or" in the search string.
  • The "not" command indicates to the database software that you want to retrieve articles that contain the word to the left of "not" but not the word to the right of "not" for instance: dolphins not miami.

When you want the database to search for a specific phrase, enclose the phrase in quotation marks: "soft drink" indicates to the database software that you want to retrieve articles about "soft drink"s, not every article containing the word soft and every article containing the word drink.

Business Databases

Business Journals by Title

These are direct links to business titles in the TCC Library Subscription databases.

Internet based Journals

The following websites have been approved by your instructor as places you can search for your journal article.

 

Business

View this video to learn how to search the Business Source Complete database to find business, management and economics articles.

This is an .mp4 video that uses Shockwave/Flash.