Skip to main content

PSYC 2306 SO: Find Articles

Databases to Try

More Databases

Database Tips

Magazine and journal articles are found using an online tool called a database.  Search the databases to find articles from both scholarly and popular sources.  Remember:  When off campus, you must login with your Web Advisor username and password to access a database through TCC libraries.

Improve your search by thinking of various keywords that relate to the subject and combine them in an advanced search.

Examples:

  • "anxiety disorders" AND treatment
  • "personality disorder" AND therapy
  • Jung AND "Theory of Personality"

Topic: Big Five Personality Theory

Database: Student Resources in Context

Example search:

  • "Big Five" personality traits

Example results in APA format for References Page

  • MAGAZINE ARTICLE: Searles, R. (2011, September-October). Sensitive soul: How your nerves shape your character. Psychology Today, 44(5), 14. Retrieved from https://www.psychologytoday.com.
  • JOURNAL ARTICLE:   Suh, E. M., & Triandis, H. C. (2002). Cultural influences on personality. Annual Review of Psychology, 133-60. Retrieved from http://www.annualreviews.org/journal/psych.
  • ENCYCLOPEDIA ARTICLE:   THE FIVE-FACTOR MODEL OF PERSONALITY. (2001). In W. E. Craighead & C. B. Nemeroff (Eds.), The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science (n.p.). Retrieved from https://www.ebscohost.com/ebooks.

Topic: Adolescent Behavior and Sleep Deprivation

Database: Academic Search Complete

Example searches:

  • sleep deprivation adolescent behavior 
  • sleep teen* psychological aspects
  • behavior AND teen* AND sleep

Example results in APA format for References Page

  • JOURNAL ARTICLE: Hildenbrand, A. K., Daly, B. P., Nicholls, E., Brooks-Holliday, S., & Kloss, J. D. (2013). Increased Risk for School Violence-Related Behaviors Among Adolescents With Insufficient Sleep. Journal of School Health, 83(6), 408-414. doi:10.1111/josh.12044.
  • MAGAZINE ARTICLE:  Teen problems linked to deprivation of sleep. (1999). Nation's Health, 29(10), 12. Retrieved from http://thenationshealth.aphapublications.org/.
  • JOURNAL ARTICLE: O'Brien, E. M., & Mindell, J. A. (2005). Sleep and Risk-Taking Behavior in Adolescents. Behavioral Sleep Medicine, 3(3), 113-133. doi:10.1207/s15402010bsm0303_1.