Research Guides: HIST 2321 SO Elkins: Find Websites

Featured Websites (reliable & critically evaluated by librarians)

American Memory
Provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Provides digitized copies of newspaper pages from 1880-1910. Also contains directory information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Currently contains the newspapers from 9 states & the District of Columbia, including Texas.
Documenting the American South
Documenting the American South (DocSouth) includes sixteen thematic collections of primary sources for the study of southern history, literature, and culture.
Encyclopedia Smithsonian
Explore online collections within the History and Culture category.
Founders Early Access Project
The Rotunda Founders Early Access project makes available for the first time thousands of unpublished documents from our nation’s founders in a free online resource.
Founders Online
George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams (and family), Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, and James Madison. Over 177,000 searchable documents, fully annotated, from the authoritative Founding Fathers Papers projects.
From Revolution to Reconstruction
Primary sources mainly from the 16th to the 18th century.
Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History
Browse American history by era as well as a unique collection of digitized primary sources.
Historic American Newspapers
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Making of America
Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
National Register of Historic Places
The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation.
Primary Documents in American History
The Library of Congress is home to many of the most important documents in American history. This Web site provides links to materials digitized from the collections of the Library of Congress that supplement and enhance the study of these crucial documents.
United Nations
Learn about important issues facing the world today.
Women Working, 1800-1930
Women Working, 1800–1930 is a digital exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression.

General and Public Websites

Important Video Checkout Information

Finding DVDs and Streaming Videos in the Catalog

The TCC Libraries have a large collection of videos available to faculty and students. Some of the videos can be checked out, some are available for in-house viewing only, and some can be accessed online. It is easy to tell which are which by how they are noted in the library catalog.

When searching the catalog, look to the left of any title in the results. A small icon of a computer monitor with a right-facing triangle indicates that title is a Streaming Video. Streaming videos are available to view online. Click the green Online access link to proceed to the electronic collection with this video.

If the video is located in the Video/DVD Collection of any TCC campus library, then the video (usually a DVD) can be checked out for a period of time (usually one week).

NOTE: Some videos may be placed on reserve by an instructor for in-library-use only. Ask at the information desk for more details.

60 Minutes: 1997-2014
60 Minutes: 1997-2014 includes hundreds of segments from 17 years of broadcasts from one of the most successful television programs in American history.
Academic Video Online: Premium
Academic Video Online is a multidisciplinary collection of videos that touches on nearly every academic subject.
Films on Demand
Assortment of films in various subject areas. Search by keyword or browse collections.
PBS Video Collection
Collection of PBS documentaries and series. Search by keyword or field of interest.
More Streaming Video Databases ...
Use the "Jump To" box to view a list of more streaming video databases to find a video on your topic.

The P.A.R.C. Method - Evaluating Websites

Information found on the internet is not filtered for quality. It is up to you to evaluate websites. Try asking yourself these questions:

Purpose

What is the function of this resource?
Who is the intended audience?
Is it profit-oriented?

Authority/Accuracy

Who are the authors or creators?
What are their credentials?
Is it self-published?

Reliability/Relevancy

Does it provide useful, relevant information for your topic?
Is this fact or opinion?
Is it biased?
What might be left out? What is the author NOT telling you?

Currency

How timely is the resource?
Is the age likely to affect the information provided?
Can you find anything more current?

P.A.R.C. Method CC-BY-SA 4.0, Dan Vinson, Haggerty Library, Mount Mary University

P.A.R.C. Method in Brief