Economics Overview

Covering figures, events, policies, and organizations, this comprehensive reference tool enhances readers' appreciation of the role economics has played in U.S. history since 1776.A study of the U.S. economy is important to understanding U.S. politics, society, and culture. To make that study easier, this dictionary offers concise essays on more than 1,200 economics-related topics. Entries cover a broad array of pivotal information on historical events, legislation, economic terms, labor unions, inventions, interest groups, elections, court cases, economic policies and philosophies, economic institutions, and global processes. Economics-focused biographies and company profiles are featured as sidebars, and the work also includes both a chronology of major events in U.S. economic history and a selective bibliography. Encompassing U.S. history since 1776 with an emphasis on recent decades, entries range from topics related to the early economic formation of the republic to those that explore economic aspects of information technology in the 21st century. The work is written to be clearly understood by upper-level high school students, but offers sufficient depth to appeal to undergraduates. In addition, the general public will be attracted by informative discussions of everything from clean energy to what keeps interest rates low.

The idea for this dictionary on economic terms originated with the reference books that we have been bringing out. The leading concern was for average students and inquisitive readers who needed to be helped into grasping the meaning of the terms used in books on economics. The dictionary covers almost all the terms that form a part and parcel of economics in simple and easily comprehensible language. In order to enhance the readers' knowledge and bring about more relevance, many examples and graphs have been used along with the definitions of the terms. The dictionary has been arranged alphabetically A-Z, including new terms that have come into regular use. A number of entries contain cross reference except where the word or phrase is self contained and complete in itself. To simplify understanding, graphs accompany the entry wherever considered necessary. 'Brief Biographies' of distinguished economists have also been included. Those mentioned have made important contribution to a particular growth model. The edition also contains popular acronyms. Significant data about economic performance of major sectors of economy and bibliographic references by way of appendices have been included; a list showing the Nobel Prize winners in economics from 1969 to 2012 along with their contribution finds place in the appendices section.

This authoritative and comprehensive dictionary contains clear, concise definitions of approximately 3,500 key economic terms. Covering all aspects of economics including economic theory and policy, applied microeconomics and macroeconomics, labour economics, public economics and public finance, monetary economics, and environmental economics, this is the essential reference work in this area. The new edition of this dictionary has been updated to include entries on China, India, and South America, to reflect the increase in prominence of these regions in the global economy. There is strong coverage of international trade and many entries on economic organizations and institutions from around the world. Fully revised to keep up to date with this fast-moving field, this new edition expands the coverage to include entries such as austerity measures, General Anti Abuse Rule, propensity score matching, and shadow bank. Entries are supplemented by entry-level web links, which are listed and regularly updated on a companion website, giving the reader the opportunity to explore further the areas covered in the dictionary. Useful appendices include a list of institutional acronyms and their affiliated websites, a list of Nobel prize-winners in economics, the Greek alphabet, and a list of relevant websites.As ideal for browsing as it is useful for quick reference, this dictionary remains an essential guide for students and teachers of economics, business, and finance, as well as for professional economists and anyone who has to deal with economic data.

A comprehensive four-volume resource that explains more than 800 topics within the foundations of economics, macroeconomics, microeconomics, and global economics, all presented in an easy-to-read format. As the global economy becomes increasingly complex, interconnected, and therefore relevant to each individual, in every country, it becomes more important to be economically literate--to gain an understanding of how things work beyond the microcosm of the economic needs of a single individual or family unit. This expansive reference set serves to establish basic economic literacy of students and researchers, providing more than 800 objective and factually driven entries on all the major themes and topics in economics. Written by leading scholars and practitioners, the set provides readers with a framework for understanding economics as mentioned and debated in the public forum and media. Each of the volumes includes coverage of important events throughout economic history, biographies of the major economists who have shaped the world of economics, and highlights of the legislative acts that have shaped the U.S. economy throughout history. The extensive explanations of major economic concepts combined with selected key historical primary source documents and a glossary will endow readers with a fuller comprehension of our economic world.

The Routledge Dictionary of Economics, now in its third edition, provides the clearest, most authoritative definition of economic and financial terms available. The book is perfect for students and professionals interested in a broad range of disciplines including Business, Economics, Finance, and Accountancy and all additional subjects where a knowledge of these fields of essential. The dictionary has been updated to reflect the economic changes of the new Millennium including the emergence of experimental and behavioural economics, new political economy, the importance of institutions, globalization, environmental economics, financial crises and the economic emergence of China and India. It's an international dictionary that includes succinctly explained A to Z entries and definitive explanations of the key terms, accompanied by a short bibliography and comprising supplementary online definitions. In a world where the reader is met with a barrage of conflicting and competing information, this book continues to provide a definitive guide to economics.

Have you ever wondered what a term in international economics means? This useful reference book offers a glossary of terms in both international trade and international finance, with emphasis on economic issues. It is intended for students getting their first exposure to international economics, although advanced students will also find it useful for some of the more obscure terms that they have forgotten or never encountered. Besides an extensive glossary of terms that has been expanded about 50% from the first edition, there is a picture gallery of diagrams used to explain key concepts such as the Edgeworth Production Box and the Offer Curve Diagram in international economics. This section is followed by over 30 lists of terms that occur a lot in international economics, grouped by subject to help users find terms that they cannot recall. Prior to an enlarged bibliography is an expanded section on the origins of terms in international economics, which records what the author has been able to learn about the origins of some of the terms used in international economics. This is a must-have portable glossary in international trade and international economics!