Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

2020 Winter Holiday Season Display: In the Library

Celebrate the 2020 Holiday Season with the TCC libraries.

Cookbooks Gallery

Chinese Feasts and Festivals

Chinese food has claimed a permanent place at the American table, but less is known about Chinese cuisine's more formal aspects. Chinese Feasts & Festivals brilliantly addresses this gap in a gorgeous, full-color Chinese cookbook. It is often said that the Chinese live to eat. Happily, the Chinese calendar is bursting with joyous occasions and numerous festivals that call for eating, entertaining, and making merry, as well as for paying homage to the gods and ancestors. As a result, the foods served at these times are a combination of flavors and symbols intended to invoke wealth, happiness, luck, and prosperity--and eating them is both an earthly pleasure and a spiritual celebration. 

author Paula Deen stands holding a pie

Christmas with Paula Deen

Filled with Paula's trademark Southern charm, Christmas with Paula Deen is a collection of beloved holiday recipes and cherished stories. "I've gone through all my books and put together this collection of my most treasured recipes and memories for the holiday season to share with you...You'll find a few new dishes, a sprinkling of new holiday stories, and some family pictures you might not have seen before." 

a cartoon style drawing of a Christmas scene with a decorated tree and table full of foods

Fix-It and Forget-It Christmas Cookbook

600 delicious slow-cooker recipes, perfect for holiday meals, from home cooks across the country who want to feast with their loved ones without being exhausted or frazzled--or getting stuck in the kitchen. From bestselling slow-cooker author, Phyllis Good. Her latest collection, Fix-It and Forget-It Christmas Cookbook: 600 Slow Cooker Holiday Recipes, will fill your head with menu ideas, give you gentle guidance with each recipe, and deliver dishes that your friends and family will love. 

4 black and white photos of women along with hand-written recipes

From Tea Cakes to Tamales

Join journalist-turned-culinary historian Nola McKey on a Texas journey as she explores the state's foodways through heirloom recipes. In this collection of more than one hundred third-generation (and older) recipes, Texans share not only the delicious dishes they inherited from their ancestors but the stories and traditions that accompany them. With a strong focus on Texas' cultural diversity--recipes include Norwegian rosettes, Italian pizzelle, Czech sauerkraut, Chinese fried rice, Mexican caldo, Wendish noodles, and African American purple hull peas--McKey documents the culinary impact of ethnic groups from around the globe.

A red and white wreath made of cookies

Holiday Cookies

From Icebox Pinwheel Cookies to Red-and-White Meringue Kisses to Apple Cider Caramels, find new inspiration for the best of seasonal baking with Holiday Cookies. This instant holiday classic is packed with 50 recipes, each gorgeously photographed and meticulously tested, along with dozens of decorating and packaging ideas. Filled with reimagined favorites like Giant Molasses Spice Cookies and Hazelnut Sandwich Cookies; confections like Peppermint Bark, Smoked Almond and Cacao Nib Brittle, and Dark Chocolate-Hazelnut Fudge; and detailed instructions for gorgeous gingerbread houses, cookie place cards, and edible ornaments, this is a cookie book like no other. 

collage of photos showing many different people cooking and eating in different settings

Holidays of the World Cookbook for Students

This updated and revised cookbook helps students explore the holiday customs and unique foods of more than 150 countries. The best way to learn about other ethnic groups is to experience that culture directly. Unfortunately, to travel to foreign places isn't often possible. Giving students the opportunity to learn about and enjoy ethnic customs and holidays through food is a great solution. This new edition of Holidays of the World Cookbook for Students provides detailed information about the holidays of nations around the world and presents a multitude of selected recipes that are ideal for each celebration.

photo of a Jewish dish called Shakshuka

Jerusalem

A collection of 120 recipes exploring the flavors of Jerusalem from the New York Times bestselling author of Plenty, one of the most lauded cookbooks of 2011. In Jerusalem, Yotam Ottolenghi and Sami Tamimi explore  the vibrant cuisine of their home city--with its diverse Muslim, Jewish, and Christian communities. Both men were born in Jerusalem in the same year--Tamimi on the Arab east side and Ottolenghi in the Jewish west. This stunning cookbook offers 120 recipes from their unique cross-cultural perspective, from inventive vegetable dishes to sweet, rich desserts. With five bustling restaurants in London and two stellar cookbooks, Ottolenghi is one of the most respected chefs in the world; in Jerusalem, he and Tamimi have collaborated to produce their most personal cookbook yet.

book cover image - a variety of colorful fruits and vegetables on a table

Jewish Holiday Cooking

In Jewish Holiday Cooking, Jayne Cohen shares a wide-ranging collection of traditional Jewish recipes, as well as inventive new creations and contemporary variations on the classic dishes. For home cooks, drawing from the rich traditions of Jewish history when cooking for the holidays can be a daunting task. Jewish Holiday Cooking comes to the rescue with recipes drawn from Jayne Cohen's first book, The Gefilte Variations, as well as over 100 new recipes and information on cooking for the holidays. 

a portrait of author Joan Nathan and photos of several foods cooked from her recipes

Joan Nathan's Jewish Holiday Cookbook

Jewish holidays are defined by food. Yet Jewish cooking is always changing, encompassing the flavors of the world, embracing local culinary traditions of every place in which Jews have lived and adapting them to Jewish observance. This collection, the culmination of Joan Nathan's decades of gathering Jewish recipes from around the world, is a tour through the Jewish holidays as told in food. 

a photo of the author holding a crate full of fresh vegetables

Michael Symon's 5 in 5 for Every Season

The follow-up to the bestselling Michael Symon's 5 in 5, Michael Symon's 5 in 5 for Every Season delivers 150 quick, easy, fresh recipes organized by season with an entire chapter devoted to making the holidays simpler than ever. Each chapter-spring, summer, fall, winter, and holidays-features inspired main courses as well as (for the first time) recipes for sides and brunch dishes. A special bonus box per chapter provides 5 fun ways to celebrate the season, such as 5 hot drinks for winter and 5 great back-to-school or back-to-work snacks in fall.

Photo of the authors standing over a table full of food

The Neelys' Celebration Cookbook

Pat and Gina Neely, the beloved husband-and-wife team and authors of the New York Times best seller Down Home with the Neelys, are all about lettin' the good times roll. It takes family, friends, and ample good food, and in their new book, they share their recipes and secrets for entertaining year-round, dishing up new spins on seasonal classics, and suggesting occasions to celebrate that most of us haven't thought of ourselves. Along with menus for Christmas, Thanksgiving, Easter Sunday, and every known holiday in between, here are all the fixings for a year of down home celebrating, 120 recipes including Hoppin' John Soup and Deep-fried Cornish Game Hens for New Year's Day; Smothered Pork Chops and Creamy Garlic Mashed Potatoes for "Welcome Home, Baby"; One-handed Turkey Burgers and Mint Tea for "Spring Cleaning." 

A horse-drawn sled being pulled through a snowy landscape

An Old-Fashioned New England Christmas

Celebrate the beauty and charm of the holidays with recipes for traditional food and drink, decorating ideas, and heartwarming stories. Author Ellen Stimson shares recipes that have been in her family for generations, mixes up a cocktail or two, and invites readers to make their own traditions.

photo of a multi-layered cake with white icing and colorful confetti falling in the background

Southern Holidays

Debbie Moose's Southern Holidays is a cook's celebration of the richly diverse holiday traditions of today's South. Covering big traditional holidays such as Christmas and Mardi Gras, this must-have addition to the Savor the South® cookbook collection also branches out into regional and cultural holidays that honor newer southern traditions, including recipes from real cooks hailing from a range of ethnic traditions and histories. The cooks' stories accompanying the recipes show how holiday foods not only hold cherished personal family memories but also often have roots in a common past that ties families together in a shared southern history.

Taste of Home Christmas

Taste of Home Christmas is a holiday cookbook filled with appetizers and beverages, breads, sides, sweets--cookies, candies, cakes, pies and more. Included is classic fare, as well as updated twists on old-time favorites. Let Taste of Home help you plan your holiday parties and menus with this idea-packed cookbook. There are wonderful appetizers and beverages, company-worthy entrees, delectable breads, an array of sides and best of all dazzling, divine sweets--cookies, candies, cakes, pies and more. Included is classic fare, as well as updated twists on old-time favorites.

book cover image shows the author standing next to a table loaded with food

The Texas Holiday Cookbook

In this new edition, truly Texan recipes like Margarita Balls and Really Whomped-Up Mashed Potatoes have been updated for contemporary tastes, products, equipment, techniques, and lifestyle concerns such as nutrition profiles. New chapters and materials include: superstar Texas chefs' holiday traditions and recipes; food gift ideas for Thanksgiving, Hanukkah, Christmas and New Year's; Texas wines and spirits for holiday celebrations; and Texas tricks to make holiday cooking tastier, quicker, and easier such as combining homemade with takeout, using convenience products, and sharing the workload with guests.

cover image is a photo with 4 different pies

A Year of Pies

What's better than pie? How about recipes for 60 delicious pies and tarts from cooking maven Ashley English and top food bloggers like Beatrice Peltre, Aran Goyoaga, and Jessie Oleson? These beautifully photographed seasonal recipes include such delights as a Chocolate & Orange Marmalade Tart in winter, a Strawberry & Rhubarb Ginger Hand Pie in spring, a classic Lattice Top Triple Berry Pie in summer, and Rosemary Bourbon Sweet Potato Pie in autumn. A Basics section offers six piecrust recipes, troubleshooting tips, and advice on selecting seasonal ingredients.

DVDs

Holiday Books

More than cookbooks!

In addition to the cookbooks featured above, the TCC libraries have holiday books for kids and grown-ups alike. Check out these titles about Christmas, Diwali, Hanukkah, Kwanzaa, and more.

These books are available NOW for checkout via curbside/front door pickup!