Skip to Main Content

Library Research Overview

This guide covers the basics of getting started with using the library for your research assignments.

Creating a Plan

Tips for Using TCC Library Resources

arrow pointing towards text

Start with your assignment

Make sure you understand your information need by reviewing your assignment. Your information need will help guide your research process. Understanding what you need to do and knowing what type of information you are looking for will help you when choosing where and how to search. 

What should I look for in my assignment?

checklist

  • Keywords or verbs. Words like summarize, compare, analyze, or argue direct you to think about your topic in a certain way.
  • Technical details which indicate format rules or guidelines like font, length, spacing, and citation style.
  • Project logistics will tell you about the final product, whether it is supposed to be a speech, written paper, or other presentation.
  • Number and type of sources such as peer-reviewed, scholarly, primary or secondary.
  • Due dates for drafts and final paper/presentation. Plan ahead for time in the library and writing center.

lightbulb

Explore your topic and develop a clear and focused research question

Whether you are trying to pick a topic, trying to familiarize yourself with a topic, or trying to narrow down your topic and develop a focused research question, the library has resources that can help! Check out the general reference, news, and journals tabs to find resources and tips that can help you with exploring topics, pre-research, and background research. 

Tips for browsing topics in the databases

Some of our databases having options to browse topics, which may be useful if you don't really know what topic you want to use for your assignment, or if you have an idea for a broad topic but don't know how you want to narrow it down yet. Illustrated below is where to look for the browsing options in many of our databases from Gale and ProQuest.

Look for similar options in other databases to see if there are any browsing features available.  

Gale Databases
  • In general, if the database has an option for browsing, you should be able to find it in the options located below the search box. Look for a lightbulb icon labeled something like "Browse" or "Browse Topics".
ProQuest Databases
  • In general, if the database has an option for browsing, you should be able to find "Browse" in the menu options that are displayed by clicking on the 3 lines in the top left corner.
  • Some more specialized databases have different search screens (for example, Black Freedom Struggle in the United States) and others display browsing results differently (for example, ProQuest One Psychology), but in general:
    • As you click through the topics, you will move through a hierarchy that goes from broader topics to narrower topics, until you reach an option to view documents for a topic.
    • Filters are not available on the results screen. You can only change how you have your results sorted and search within the set of results (the search box to search within the results is located towards the bottom of the screen below the results).
    • Browsing these databases may be a useful option when exploring topics & gathering background information. When conducting your in-depth research, searching, rather than browsing, will allow you to make full use of the filters available in the database. 
SIRS Issues Researcher


SIRS Issues Researcher is one of the databases we have from ProQuest. You can browse curriculum standards if you click on the Browse option from the menu as described above. However, if you want to browse issues/topics, in the text below the search box, look for the link to go over to their Guided Research interface.  

Tips for finding general reference resources

  • laptop with stack of booksSearch the library catalog: Search your general topic in the library catalog using the All Collections search and limit your Resource Type to Reference Entries. Or search our print or eBooks for a specific type of reference text (like an encyclopedia or dictionary).
  • Check our research guides: You may be able to find suggestions of specific subject-related resources in our subject guides or course guides (if one has been created for your course).

Tips for finding news & newspapers

newspaper

  • Search our databases: We have many news-related resources listed in our database list. Some of them are listed as individual publications (for example, Dallas Morning news via EBSCOHost), while others are larger databases focused on providing news content from a variety of sources (for example: NewsBank - America's News 2024). Use the alphabetical list of databases to locate a particular resource or use the databases by subject option and look under News and Controversial Issues.  
  • In the databases: If searching a particular database, look for ways to limit your search results. In our databases from Gale, you should be able to limit your Content Type to News. In our databases from ProQuest, you should be able to limit your results to Newspapers under Source Type. Look for similar options in other databases.  
  • Search the library catalog: Search your general topic in the library catalog using the All Collections search and limit your Resource Type to Newspaper Articles. Or try searching for a particular news source to see if we have online or physical access to it. The libraries have a small selection of physical newspaper subscriptions, however these can only be used in the library and can not be checked out. 

Using journals for pre-research

journal

Wondering what the current topics are that are being researched in your discipline? Scanning the contents of recent issues of journals in your discipline can be a useful strategy. 

  • Use the steps below to find journals in your discipline that we have access to.
  • You can also check our research guides. You may be able to find suggestions of specific journals in our subject guides or course guides (if one has been created for your course).

Wondering if we have access to a specific journal?

Arrow pointing towards button
1. On the library website, under TCC Article Databases, click on "How can I find electronic journal titles?"
arrow pointing to search box
2. Type in the Title or ISSN for the journal. Press enter or click on the magnifying glass to search.
arrows pointing to the journal title and Available Online
3. If we have access, click on the title of the journal (or click on "Available Online") to open the catalog record.
  • If the journal is available to view online: Under "View Online" there will be a list of databases that have full text availability, along with the dates full text is available for. Click on a database that provides current access. From there, you should have options to browse the contents of recent issues of the journal.
  • If the journal is available in print: The campus libraries that have the print journal available will be listed under "Locations". Click on the campus library location to view more details about what volumes are available. Print journals may only be viewed in the library and cannot be checked out.
If you don't have the name of a specific journal, you can try searching some general keywords related to your topic to help you identify potentially relevant journals that we have access to.