Skip to Main Content

Speech Overview

General library overview for beginning research and finding resources in Speech at TCC

Books & More

Selected Books

Public speaking basics

This textbook provides concise information, classroom exercises, homework assignments, and speeches to enable college students to master public speaking.

Public Speaking for Dummies

In this book, champion of public speaking Alyson Connolly takes you step by step through the process of conceiving, crafting, and delivering a high-impact presentation. 

Public speaking

 A guide that not only offers a wealth of material on preparing a speech that will hold and move your audience, but will also help you overcome any fears and give you the confidence you need to make your speech work.

MLA Handbook 9th Edition

A textbook and reference guide that offers guidance on creating works-cited-list entries in MLA style using the template of core elements.

The Concise APA Handbook

This updated APA 7th edition guidebook provides students with important information in clear, concise, user-friendly language, as well as practical examples that will help them grasp the concept of secondary research writing. 

Books

TCC Library Catalog In the Library search option

Search the catalog

  1. Begin on the TCC Libraries homepage
  2. Scroll down to TCC Library Catalog (box on left)
  3. Select "In the Library"
  4. Select your home campus or leave as "Any Campus" to search all TCC library locations
  5. Type what you are searching for in the search box (for example: book title, author, topic keywords) and click the Search button 
  6. Use the filters on the left to narrow down your results.
    Some of the filter options that may be useful are Resource Type (you can limit to "Books"), Publication Date, Subject, Genre, Author, Language, and Library. You may also see options like Course Instructor, Course Code, Course Name, and Course Department (if there are Course Reserve materials in your results). 
  7. If the item is available, results will show where it is available at.
    If the item is at more than one campus you will see "and other locations" - click to open the item record to view all campus library locations for the item. 

Call number from a catalog record matching with a call number on a book spine

Find on the shelf

  1. After you have searched for and located a book in the library catalog, use the location information from the catalog record to help you locate the item in the library. 
  2. The information after the library name will tell you what section of the library the item is in. Books that have "Circulating Collection" listed are books that you can check out and take out of the library. These are ones that you will find on the shelves. Books that have "Library Reserves" listed will be held at the library's circulation desk. Most of these can only be checked out for use in the library for a couple of hours. Other books may list something else (for example, "New Arrivals" or "Oversized"). Books may be on display or part of a specific collection.
  3. Look for signs on the ends of the shelves to find the shelf the book should be on, then use the call number listed to locate the item on the shelf.
  4. If you need help finding a book, stop by the reference desk in the library to get help from a librarian. 

books

Browse the shelves

For general browsing of our print collection for Speech, these Library of Congress call number sections might be of interest:

  • P - Language and Literature
    • P Philology & Linguistics
    • P 95 Oral Communication & Speech
    • PE English Language
    • PN Literature (General)

 

TCC Library Catalog eBook search option

Search the catalog

  1. Begin on the TCC Libraries homepage
  2. Scroll down to TCC Library Catalog (box on left)
  3. Select "Ebooks"
  4. Type what you are searching for in the search box (for example: book title, author, topic keywords) and click the Search button 
  5. Use the filters on the left to narrow down your results.
    Some of the filter options that may be useful are Publication Date, Subject, Genre, Author, and Language.     

Access online

  1. After you have searched for and located an eBook in the library catalog, click on "Available Online" or the book title to open up the catalog record.
  2. Use the link(s) listed under View Online to access the eBook.

Browse available eBooks

Click on one of the eBook collections listed below to browse available titles. (Collection links will open in a new window.)

Related Guides

The library does not collect textbooks, however we may have a copy of your textbook if your instructor has placed one on reserve. Generally these can only be checked out for use in the library for a couple of hours. You can search our Course Reserves using the steps below. You can also stop by the library or chat with us online. We are always happy to check to see if we have a book available.

TCC Library Catalog Course Reserves search option

Search the catalog

  1. Begin on the TCC Libraries homepage
  2. Scroll down to TCC Library Catalog (box on left)
  3. Select "Course Reserves" 
  4. Type what you are searching for in the search box (for example: book title, course instructor name, course code). 
  5. If the item is available, results will show where it is available at.
    If the item is at more than one campus you will see "and other locations" - click to open the item record to view all campus library locations for the item.

Find in the library

Visit the library's circulation desk to check out books that are part of the Reserves collection. Make sure you have your ID with you. You'll need it to check out library materials.

Related Guides