Women's Equality Day / 19th Amendment: Web Resources

The year 2020 marks the 100th anniversary of the passage of the 19th Amendment, guaranteeing and protecting women's constitutional right to vote. This historic centennial offers an unparalleled opportunity to commemorate a milestone of democracy and to explore its relevance to the issues of equal rights today. The Women's Vote Centennial Initiative, a collaboration of women-centered institutions, organizations, and scholars from across the US, works to ensure that this anniversary, and the 72-year fight to achieve it, are commemorated and celebrated throughout the United States.

To mark the centennial of the 19th Amendment, the Library of Congress, Smithsonian and National Archives are collaborating to bring these stories to you on social media. From August 2 - 26, you can follow weekday posts to learn voting-rights history drawn from all three institutions’ collections. You can also use our set of animated social media GIFs and Instagram stickers on your social media posts to mark the centennial.

The National Archives Foundation and National Archives invite you to join our virtual commemoration of the 100th anniversary of the passage of the 19th Amendment, in which many women won the right to vote. The virtual commemoration is part of our Rightfully Hers: American Women and the Vote exhibit and initiative. Throughout August, we will explore the complex story of the struggle for women’s suffrage, leading up to and beyond the certification of the 19th Amendment on August 26, 1920.

This free, dynamic poster exhibition - from the Smithsonian Institution - will explore the complexity of the women's suffrage movement and the relevance of this history to Americans' lives today.

A chronology of the recognition of women's rights to vote and to stand for election in countries around the world.

The official site commemorating 100 years of women's right to vote.

Women’s Equality Day commemorates the passage of the 19th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution, granting the right to vote to women. The amendment was first introduced in 1878. In 1971, the U.S. Congress designated August 26 as Women’s Equality Day.

This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.

At the National Women’s Hall of Fame, our mission all day, every day is “Showcasing great women… Inspiring all!”

The Arthur and Elizabeth Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America documents the lives of women of the past and present for the future and furthers the Radcliffe Institute's commitment to women, gender, and society.