Research Guides: BIOL 2420 Ertle SE : Databases

Why use Library Databases?

Library databases are organized, searchable collections of high-quality information. Databases save you time and money because you can quickly find what you need and the library has already purchased access to scholarly content.

To Find Articles

Go to http://library.tccd.edu
Look on the right side of the page for TCC Article Databases
Click on "Browse Subjects"

Choose "Health and Nursing" or "Science" from the drop-down list to see related databases. The right database for you will depend on your topic. Please refer to the list on the right side of the page for suggested databases. If you have problems finding what you need, ask a librarian or try PMC, a database of free federally funded research articles.

Recommended Databases

Every database has a purpose, but some are better for your class's assignments than others. These databases may be particularly useful to you for this assignment.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
is the world‚Äôs most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL¬ÆComplete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.
TCCD
Health and Medicine (formerly Health Reference Center Academic) This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine integrates tens of millions of articles from a wide range of full-text nursing and allied health journals, magazines, newsletters and select consumer health information sources with full-text reference works and thousands of health-related multimedia assets.
TexShare
Health and Wellness from Gale This link opens in a new window
Gale Health and Wellness provides instant access to carefully compiled medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.
TCCD
Nursing and Allied Health : Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
With a strong emphasis on full text titles cited in CINAHL and over 10 million articles, this collection's current and authoritative content will help nursing professionals already working in the field, as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum. Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health collection comes to the rescue of nursing students, physician‚Äôs assistant students, and researchers in allied health fields who are looking for answers related to the specialized care, treatment, and management of all sorts of patients.
TCCD
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
TCCD

Choosing Search Terms for Articles

Good search strategies to find articles usually contain between two and four concepts. For example, measles AND symptoms are two concepts. Together, they make a complete search strategy. The AND helps the database combine the concepts correctly. If you search on your strategy and get too many results, add another concept to narrow your results. If you get too few results, remove a concept or brainstorm alternate wordings to search for the same information. Searching on rubeola AND symptoms, for example, is another way to find similar information. Rubeola is the virus that causes measles.