The findings show that the university‘s support is the main factor that influences instructors‘ beliefs on the best method of integration, either by creating a tolerant atmosphere in the institution or using specially developed teaching methods. Lecturers' positive emotional responses and desire to be familiar with and involved with HFA students influence lecturers‘ ability to provide effective support to students with HFA.
From "Should Lecturers be Willing to Teach High-functioning Autistic Students: What do They Need to Know? by E. Ponomaryova , Dr. H. Gendel Guterman , Prof. N. Davidovitch & Prof. Y. Shapira, published in Higher Education Studies
Full Text is Available through TCC Databases
One of the major foundational experiences common among exemplary faculty members was the development of prior personal connections to people with disabilities.
From "Exceptional Faculty Members Who Responsively Teach Students with Autism Spectrum Disorders" by Kimberly S. Austin, Edlyn Vallejo Peña in Journal of Postsecondary Education and Disability
Full Text is Available through TCC Databases
The main finding of this study can be summarised as follows. There is absolutely no need or excuse for any fear about not being able to deal with very often not understandable issues that accompany the diagnosis of autism. There is an urge for very strong connections between the different internal stakeholders (students, teachers, parents, university management) and the external expertise providers.
From "Business School Teachers’ Experiences with a Student with Autism Spectrum Disorder" by Jaka Vadnjal and Darinka Radoja published in Center for Educational Policy Studies Journal
Full Text Available in TCC Databases
The following Learning Support Services ideas come from the article: "Using the College Infrastructure to Support Students on the Autism Spectrum" by Susan E. Longtin, published in the Journal of Postsecondary Education and Disability
Full Text is Available in the TCC Databases
Disability Services
Students should be encouraged to disclose their disability status. Disability Services can set the tone that the college will be welcoming and supportive.
Personal Counseling
Personal Counseling can help with stress management and anxiety as well as with co-morbidities.
Health Clinic
Health Clinics can provide health education and support as well as referrals for other services.
Learning Center
Learning Centers can support students with ASD who often have uneven skill sets and may need extra support in some content areas. Learning Support should be geared to various learning styles as not all students will learn well with the same methods.
Career Counseling
Unemployment and underemployment are problems for the ASD community. Career Counseling that is informed can help students be successful.
Student Center
Involvement in clubs can be very helpful to ASD students. Clubs that are inclusive, accepting, or geared to the needs of ASD students can be very important.
Library
The library can be an oasis and also a space for ASD students to get needed academic support. Libraries also provide support to everyone on campus by providing access to the latest research and information on Autism and disability services.