Gale Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
This scholarly collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including, but not limited to: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology and many other fields.
Academic Video Online: Art & Designbrings together the most influential creative works the world over, spanning centuries and continents to share the must-see pieces‚Äîboth famed and lesser-known‚Äîthat have left an indelible mark upon contemporary culture and fosters learning and discovery by pairing primary source artworks in a broad range of genres and formats with key commentary that explores the significance of the works in context.
The Educational Resource Information Center provides access to education literature and resources, including information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC provides full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.
Humanities Full Text™ includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals‚Äîof which 470 are peer-reviewed‚Äîdating as far back as 1984. The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
is a digital library of more than 1,500 academic journals, books, and primary sources. JSTOR helps people discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content through a powerful research and teaching platform, and preserves this content for future generations. Includes collections: Arts and Sciences II, Arts and Sciences III, Arts and Sciences V, Arts and Sciences VIII, Arts and Sciences XII, and Life Sciences.
is a gateway that offers users the ability to access and search the content of Grove Art Online and other Oxford art reference resources in one location. In addition to new and updated articles and citations, this database includes over 5000 images, extensive image links, and thematic timelines.
The Concise Dictionary of Art Terms is an accessible and useful A-Z, covering a wide range of terms from the visual art world, including materials, techniques, and important styles and periods. In this new edition, the text has been fully revised and updated to reflect the latest developments in the field. It has also been expanded with more than 100 brand new entries, focusing primarily on modern and contemporary art materials and techniques.
A fantastic local art resource, Big Red & Shiny is a Boston-based non-profit arts organization and online art journal. They commission and publish articles, essays and reviews that explore the theory, history and reception of art in its current conditions.
assembles hundreds of the greatest documentary films and series from the history of the Public Broadcasting Service into one convenient online interface. This collection provides access to the films and series users already know and trust, including Frontline, NOVA, American Experience, Odyssey, and films by Ken Burns and Michael Wood.
Charlie Tefft: patience is still a virtue / Leigh Somerville -- Takeshi Yasuda: upside down porcelain -- Squared casseroles / Mike Baum -- Ray Bub: reassembled ring teapots / Paul Park -- Multi-sided forms / Don Hall -- Amy Santoferraro: plate-o-matic / Paul Andrew Wandless -- The making(s) of a sphere / Ursula Goebels-Ellis -- Shuji Ikeda: weaving clay / James Irwin -- Credit card dies / Daryl Baird -- The printed pot / Mark Ganter, Duane Storti and Ben Utela -- Grace Nickel: clay and light / Glen R. Brown -- Phil Cornelius: porcelain thinware
This book is a comprehensive source of information on various aspects of ceramic matrix composites (CMC). It covers ceramic and carbon fibers; the fiber-matrix interface; processing, properties and industrial applications of various CMC systems; architecture, mechanical behavior at room and elevated temperatures, environmental effects and protective coatings, foreign object damage, modeling, life prediction, integration and joining. Each chapter in the book is written by specialists and internationally renowned researchers in the field. This book will provide state-of-the-art information on different aspects of CMCs. The book will be directed to researchers working in industry, academia, and national laboratories with interest and professional competence on CMCs. T
"It is rare to find a book on art that presents complex aesthetic principles in clear readable form. Ceramics, by Philip Rawson, is such a book. I discovered it ten years ago, and today my well-worn copy has scarcely a page on which some statement is not underlined and starred."--Wayne Higby, from the Foreword
The book deals with many aspects of ceramics from 25,000BC till today at a level for the interested lay person and students of secondary vocational schools. In addition, other sciences which are involved in ceramics are described to a level that is necessary to understand ceramics, for example chemistry, colloid chemistry, crystallography, etc. Ceramics are so placed in the middle of the 'spiders web' of natural sciences.
Glass-ceramic materials share many properties with both glass and more traditional crystalline ceramics. This new edition examines the various types of glass-ceramic materials, the methods of their development, and their countless applications. With expanded sections on biomaterials and highly bioactive products (i.e., Bioglass and related glass ceramics), as well as the newest mechanisms for the development of dental ceramics and theories on the development of nano-scaled glass-ceramics, here is a must-have guide for ceramic and materials engineers, managers, and designers in the ceramic and glass industry.
What do the following things have in common: the space shuttle, cosmetics, color TVs, concrete, and kayaks? Ceramics! All these items are made of or include ceramics, the most common and diverse of all materials - yet most of us would be surprised at its variety of uses. You will be amazed by how ceramics make possible such diverse products as cellular phones, many of your favorite sporting goods, radio, television, and lasers. You will be surprised by how ceramics are used in medicine for cancer treatments and restoring hearing, in our cars, and even in some cosmetics. book introduces readers to the many exciting applications of ceramics. By using simplified technical explanations, it answers the question: How do ceramics improve your everyday life?