The components that make up a piece of art. The building blocks of art.
1. The category of art, relating to the type of work. Ex. portraiture, landscape, still lifes.
2. Art depicting everyday life is called genre.
Medium
Movement (see Genre)
Principles of Art
How the Elements are used or distributed throughout the work.
Courtesy of Coastal Pines Technical College
To locate articles on a topic, click on the appropriate link above and then enter a single word or phrase in the search box.
For example:
The public artwork websites and artists in your textbook will give you good terms to use as you begin your search.
To further narrow your search you need to carefully select your search terms and use AND to combine them, if needed. For example, search terms Henry Moore AND Reclining Figure.
Any database in this list would be a good place to search for your article.
Alternatively, please do not hesitate to contact a librarian to assist you in your search. Due to the requirements of your assignment, you may want to contact your instructor first.
Your My TCC email address follows this format:
For instance, if your My TCC username is john.doe256
then your My TCC email address is:
A Dictionary of Ancient near Eastern Architecture by American art journal (New York, N.Y. : 1866 : Online)
Art & antiques (New York, N.Y.: 1984)
Art bulletin (New York, N.Y.: Online)
Art education (Kutztown, Pa. : Online)
Art journal (New York, N.Y.: 1960: Online)
Art world (New York, N.Y. : 1916 : Online)
| Museum Websites | Images Collections | Online Art Resources |
|
The Modern Art Museum of Ft. Worth Amon Carter Museum of American Art Smithsonian American Art Museum National Museum of Wildlife Art National Museum of Women in the Arts Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco Los Angeles County Museum of Art San Francisco Museum of Modern Art deCordova Sculpture Park and Museum Art on the Atlanta Beltline |
VADS: The Online Resource for Visual Arts Library of Congress: Digital Collections New York Public Library Digital Collection |
A virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture. Search by the name of the painter and see examples of their work. Comprehensive webliography of art history links organized by an art historian and appraiser: some are commercial sites while many others are credible sources such as the Metropolitan Museum of Art. |
The TCC Library databases are a great place to find images for your presentation! Many times you can use images that accompany the articles you use for your research. To make a copy of an image from an article in a database, use the right-click method described in the column on the left of this page. There are also a few TCC Library databases that have their own collection of images, sounds and videos that you can use for your PowerPoint presentation. Some of the most popular of these are:
Just be sure to make a note of which database you got the image from for your works cited page
Images that you have drawn or taken with a digital camera also work well for presentations. If you have a picture that you need to digitize, you will need access to a computer with a scanner attached. Kinko's has scanners to use for a fee.
Clip art from Microsoft is also another option. Clip Art can be accessed directly from the PowerPoint application. You will not need to cite clip art images in your works cited page.
is a collection of more than 895 films in eight subjects areas owned by Tarrant County College that can be streamed directly to your computer.
Art Reference Books (which are often also sometimes available in database form) are the best places to find information on art topics such as:
· Art, Abstract
Art books you can check out also often provide concise summaries, but may also consist of detailed discussions that go into great depth about the topic.
Using books for research does not necessarily mean that you need to read the entire book.
· The introduction to a book may be a good place to find background information on the topic the book is about.
· You should read enough of a book or chapter to understand what an author is saying and quote her correctly.
· Sometimes chapters in books are complete works written by different authors, making them ideal for research.
