Research Guides: GEOG 1301 / GEOG 1302 / GEOG 1303 SO: GEOG 1303 Internet Sources

Websites

Use these authoritative websites to identify problems to research.

CIA World Factbook
Maps
Demographics
Geography
Eye on Earth
Use this interactive tool to view the earth in a whole new light.
Hawaii Center for Volcanology
Learn about Hawaiian volcanoes.
NASA's Eyes on Earth
Learn about climate change: read causes and effects from an authoritative source.
National Geographic Maps
NOAA (National Ocean and Atmospheric Administration)
Anything and everything concerned with weather and climate.
North Central Texas Council of Governments (NCTCOG)
Serves a 16-county region of North Central Texas, which is centered around the two urban centers of Dallas Fort Worth. This site provides a source for anything related to the environment including maps, census data, watersheds, and recycling.
Religious Tolerance
This website contains over 53,000 essays and is sponsored by the Ontario Consultants on Religious Tolerance. Almost all other religious web sites explain only the beliefs of the webmaster or sponsoring faith group. We are different: we try to explain accurately the full breadth of religious beliefs, worldviews, and systems of morality, ethics, and values. We hope that you will find our essays helpful and of interest.
USGS - United States Geological Survey
Federal source for science about the earth's lithosphere and biosphere (natural and living resources, natural hazards, and the environment).
Virtual Tourist
Outstanding source of unbiased, user-generated travel content for travelers seeking an insider's perspective. Real travel tips, reviews and photos from real people who have actually been there and done that.
World Atlas
Outstanding search tool for population, land and water information.
World Bank
The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world.

Databases from the Web

Searching a database is not like searching the Web. Databases are collections of scholarly articles of a specific subject. Some databases are available only through the TCC Library Webpage, but there are also some that are free and available online, like the ones below.

AgEcon
A resource to help you research the economic aspects of subjects like pollution and climate change.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Browse a number of Open Access Journals to assist with your research.
Current Research Journal of Social Sciences
Earth Trends
Great information on water resources, climate, population, atmosphere and more.
Journal of Maps
Natural Hazards and Earth Sciences

Type in the name of a country or body of water

Wolfram|Alpha's long-term goal is to make all systematic knowledge immediately computable and accessible to everyone. We aim to collect and curate all objective data; implement every known model, method, and algorithm; and make it possible to compute whatever can be computed about anything. Our goal is to build on the achievements of science and other systematizations of knowledge to provide a single source that can be relied on by everyone for definitive answers to factual queries. (http://www.wolframalpha.com/about.html)

The information gathered from the Wolfram/Alpha project is similar to that found in the Global Road Warrior database or the CIA World Factbook.

Maps (outlines)

Brigham Young University Geography Department
All the maps are PDF files, so you need Acrobat Reader installed to view them. Several are quite large but the majority replicate our world regional geography course mapping requirements.
University of Texas Online Maps
Maps of various countries, regions, as well as historical maps and maps of natural disasters.

Google Earth

Download Google Earth for FREE!
Google Earth lets you fly anywhere on earth to view satellite imagery, maps, terrain, 3D buildings, from galaxies in outer space to the canyons of the ocean. You can explore rich geographical content, save your toured places, and share with others.
Google Earth Tutorial
Here you will find a LibGuide created by librarians at Duke University to assist students in using Google Earth.

Virtual Maps

Click Move the Map
Enter country name in box