Research Guides: ENGL 1301 SO Harvey: Obesity

Topics and Subtopics

Is obesity the real problem?

Topics and subtopics include:

Fitness/health issues
Competitive sports
Sports injury
Sports/athlete privilege
Sedentary lifestyle factors (television, video games, etc.)
Wellness issues (anorexia, bulimia, binge eating, diabetes, etc.)

Books, Ebooks and Videos from the Library

Sports Biomechanics by Roger Bartlett
ISBN: 0419184406
Publication Date: 1999-07-26
This book examines such topics as biomechanical analysis, optimization of sports techniques and the biomechanics of musculoskeletal injury. This is an invaluable text for readers interested in sports injury and therapy, sport science and biomechanics.

Here is a small sampling of what items are available from the South Campus Library on your topic. Books in the library are organized by subject, use the call numbers below to find more books on the same subject.

When Winning Costs Too Much by Julian Bailes; John McCloskey
Call Number: RC1230 .M38 2005
ISBN: 9781589791794
Publication Date: 2005-03-10
In this day and age when the sports pages of the local newspaper read like either a police report or a pharmacology text, it is impossible not to conclude that the mantra of winning has entered very dangerous ground. This book not only details these abuses and the dangers of the drugs themselves, but also addresses the misguided coaches, fialed mentors, and poor role models who have contributed to the decline of the sports-for-sports sake mentalitly.
The Concussion Crisis by Linda Carroll; David Rosner
Call Number: RC394.C7 C37 2011
ISBN: 9781451627220
Publication Date: 2011-09-13
FOR FAR TOO LONG, the menace of concussions has been hidden in plain sight. On playing fields across America, lives are being derailed by seemingly innocuous jolts to the head. From the peewees to the pros, concussions are reaching epidemic proportions. This book brings that hidden epidemic and its consequences out of the shadows.
Sports and Athletes by Christine Watkins
Call Number: South Library Social Issues GV705.4 .S64 2009
ISBN: 9780737745429
Publication Date: 2009-03-20
Top Dog by Po Bronson; Ashley Merryman
Call Number: BF637.C47 B76 2013
ISBN: 9781455515158
Publication Date: 2013-02-19
It's a Dog Eat Dog World. Don't Be on the Menu. What are the differences between a winning and losing performance? Why are we able to rise to the challenge one day, but wilt from it the next? Can we in fact become better competitors? In TOP DOG, Po Bronson and Ashley Merryman use cutting edge science to tease out the hidden factors at the core of every great triumph - and every tragic failure.
The Family Guide to Fighting Fat by Texas Children's Hospital Panel; Children's Texas; Texas Children's
Call Number: RJ399.C6 F36 2007
ISBN: 9780312357863
Publication Date: 2007-10-02
A PRACTICAL GUIDE TO A HEALTHIER LIFESTYLE FOR THE ENTIRE FAMILY More than 30 percent of American children are overweight. Childhood obesity has become an epidemic in this country, leading to early onset diabetes and a general health crisis for children. The best plan to attack obesity starts at home and engages the whole family.
Salt Sugar Fat by Michael Moss
Call Number: RA784 .M638 2013
ISBN: 9781400069804
Publication Date: 2013-02-26
#1 "NEW YORK TIMES "BESTSELLER From a Pulitzer Prize-winning investigative reporter at "The New York Times "comes the explosive story of the rise of the processed food industry and its link to the emerging obesity epidemic. Michael Moss reveals how companies use salt, sugar, and fat to addict us and, more important, how we can fight back.
Video Games by Laurie Willis
Call Number: South Library Social Issues GV1469.3 .V526 2010
ISBN: 9780737745108
Publication Date: 2009-09-04
Glued to Games by Scott Rigby; Richard Ryan
Call Number: GV1469.3 .R55 2011
ISBN: 9780313362248
Publication Date: 2012-03-01
With video game sales in the billions and anxious concerns about their longterm effects growing louder, Glued to Games: How Video Games Draw Us In and Hold Us Spellbound brings something new to the discussion. It is the first truly balanced research-based analysis on the games and gamers, addressing both the positive and negative aspects of habitual playing by drawing on significant recent studies and established motivational theory.
Electronic Hearth by Cecelia Tichi
Call Number: HQ520 .T53 1991
ISBN: 0195065492
Publication Date: 1991-10-17
We all talk about the "tube" or "box," as if television were simply another appliance like the refrigerator or toaster oven. But Cecilia Tichi argues that TV is actually an environment--a pervasive screen-world that saturates almost every aspect of modern life. In Electronic Hearth, she looks at how that environment evolved, and how it, in turn, has shaped the American experience.
Eating Disorders by Justine J. Reel (Editor)
Call Number: RC552.E18 E28216 2013
ISBN: 9781440800580
Publication Date: 2012-12-01
"This timely encyclopedia provides a comprehensive examination of a full range of topics related to eating disorders and body image"--"This is a book about "Eating Disorders" - An Encyclopedia of Causes, Treatment, and Prevention"--
Eating Disorders by Roman Espejo (Editor)
Call Number: South Campus Social Issues RC552.E18 E28211217 2012
ISBN: 9780737757248
Publication Date: 2012-02-10
"Eating Disorders: Are Eating Disorders a Serious Problem?; What Causes Eating Disorders?; What Role Does the Internet Play in Eating Disorders?; How Should Eating Disorders Be Treated?"--
Body Image, Eating Disorders and Obesity in Youth by J. Kevin Thompson (Editor); Linda Smolak (Editor)
Call Number: RA777 .B59 2001
ISBN: 1557987580
Publication Date: 2001-04-01

Library Subscription Databases

Use key terms to search the library databases. Search terms might include:

Fitness
Healthy lifestyle
Athletes
Competitive Sports
Sports Injury
Athletes and privilege
Sedentary Lifestyle
Anorexia
Bulimia
Diabetes
Binge eating

Library Subscription Databases

Opposing Viewpoints: Gale In Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints In Context brings together viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, biographies of social activists, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazines articles, as well as links to more than 1,800 reviewed and subject-indexed web sites. [Thomson-Gale]
TexShare
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
SIRS Issues Researcher delivers general reference and contains thousands of full text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues selected from over 1,700 domestic and international publications. Beginning August 1, 2019, SIRS Issues Researcher also provides content from SIRS Renaissance (information related to architecture, design, culture, literature, multimedia, music, performing and visual arts, philosophy and religion) and SIRS Government Reporter (current and historic government documents, landmark and recent U.S. Supreme Court decisions, information about federal departments, agencies, elected leaders and more).
TCCD
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
indexes articles covering various subjects from thousands of periodicals, many full text, full image format.
TCCD