Research Guides: ENGL 1301 SO Harvey: Planet in peril?

Topics and Subtopics

Is the planet in peril?

Topics and Subtopics:

global warming
endangered species
animal population control (hunting, animal birth control, etc.)
bee population reduction
destruction of natural habitats (logging, oil spills, etc.)

Books, Ebooks and Videos from the Library

Global Warming by Debra A. Miller
Call Number: South Social Issues QC981.8.G56 G574414 2008
ISBN: 9780737740707
Publication Date: 2008-04-25
Examines various vantage points on global warming.

Here is a small sampling of what items are available from the South Campus Library on your topic. Books in the library are organized by subject, use the call numbers below to find more books on the same subject.

Global Warming 101 by Bruce E. Johansen
Call Number: This is an Ebook, click the title to view.
ISBN: 9780313346903
Publication Date: 2008-06-30
The accelerating pace of global warming is provoking anxiety that the Earth is reaching an ominous threshold, a point of no return. Within a decade or two, various feedbacks may take greenhouse warming past any human ability to contain or reverse it.
Earth under Fire by Gary Braasch; Bill McKibben (Afterword by)
Call Number: QC981.8.C5 B715 2007
ISBN: 9780520244382
Publication Date: 2007-10-15
Six years ago, award-winning photojournalist Gary Braasch began an extraordinary journey around the world to observe and document environmental changes resulting from the warming of our climate. In this stunning, eye-opening book, he brings us along to witness firsthand what he saw as he crossed both the Antarctic and Arctic Circles, trekked above 15,000 feet in the Andes, dove on damaged coral reefs, and followed scientists into the field on four continents.
Endangered Species by Cynthia A. Bily
Call Number: South Social Issues QH75 .E645 2010
ISBN: 9780737749533
Publication Date: 2010-07-16
Bees of the World by Christopher O'Toole; Anthony Raw; Rod Preston-Mafham (Photographer); Ken Preston-Mafham (Photographer)
Call Number: QL563 .O87 1992
ISBN: 9780816019922
Publication Date: 1991-08-01
Keeping Bees in Towns and Cities by Luke Dixon
Call Number: SF523 .D58 2012
ISBN: 9781604692877
Publication Date: 2012-09-18
Keeping Bees in Towns and Cities features everything an urbanite needs to know to start keeping bees: how to select the perfect hive, how to buy bees, how to care for a colony, how to harvest honey, and what to do in the winter. Urban beekeeping has particular challenges and needs, and this book highlights the challenges and presents practices that are safe, legal, and neighbor-friendly. The text is rounded out with profiles of urban beekeepers from all over the world, including public hives at the Maryland Center for Horticulture, beekeeping on an office balcony in Melbourne, Australia, and a poolside hive at a hotel in Vancouver, British Columbia.
The Forest Killers: the destruction of the American wilderness
Call Number: SD565 .S49
Black Tide by Antonia Juhasz
Call Number: GC1221 .J85 2011
ISBN: 9780470943373
Publication Date: 2011-04-01
A searing look at the human face of BP's disaster in the gulf It is the largest oil disaster in American history, and it could happen again. It is more than a story of ruined beaches, dead wildlife, corporate spin, political machinations, and financial fallout. It is a riveting human drama filled with people whose lives will forever be defined as "before" and "after the gulf oil disaster."

Search Terms

Use key terms to search the library databases. Search terms might include:

Global warming
Endangered species
Name of a particular endangered species
Wild animal population control
Animal birth control
Hunting
Bees
logging
oil spills

Library Subscription Databases

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 295,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,600 records. EBSCOHost
TexShare
Opposing Viewpoints: Gale In Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints In Context brings together viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, biographies of social activists, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazines articles, as well as links to more than 1,800 reviewed and subject-indexed web sites. [Thomson-Gale]
TexShare
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
indexes articles covering various subjects from thousands of periodicals, many full text, full image format.
TCCD
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
SIRS Issues Researcher delivers general reference and contains thousands of full text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues selected from over 1,700 domestic and international publications. Beginning August 1, 2019, SIRS Issues Researcher also provides content from SIRS Renaissance (information related to architecture, design, culture, literature, multimedia, music, performing and visual arts, philosophy and religion) and SIRS Government Reporter (current and historic government documents, landmark and recent U.S. Supreme Court decisions, information about federal departments, agencies, elected leaders and more).
TCCD