Research Guides: ENGL 1301 SO Harvey: Technology and Communication

Topics and Subtopics

Does technology improve communication skills/abilities?

Topics and subtopics:

Decreased social skills
Increased social networking
Online dating
Decreased critical analysis/explanatory skills

Books, Ebooks, and Videos from the Library

Are Social Networking Sites Harmful? by Stefan Kiesbye
Call Number: South Social Issues HM742 .A74 2011
ISBN: 9780737751314
Publication Date: 2011-01-07

Here is a small sampling of what items are available from the South Campus Library on your topic. Books in the library are organized by subject, use the call numbers below to find more books on the same subject.

Public Parts by Jeff Jarvis
Call Number: HM742 .J37 2011
ISBN: 9781451636000
Publication Date: 2011-09-27
A visionary and optimistic thinker examines the tension between privacy and publicness that is transforming how we form communities, create identities, do business, and live our lives.
How to Succeed in Business Using LinkedIn by Eric Butow; Kathleen Taylor
Call Number: This book is available online, click the title above.
ISBN: 9780814410745
Publication Date: 2008-08-27
Hailed as the MySpace for professionals, LinkedIn has taken the Internet by storm. It is now estimated that 19 million business professionals log in to this site every day to look for job opportunities, search for potential clients, get recommendations from colleagues, and reconnect with former coworkers. LinkedIn allows users to create a profile detailing their professional experience and accomplishments, which will help them connect with literally thousands of qualified professionals in their field.
Lol... OMG! by Matt Ivester
Call Number: TK5105.88815 .I94 2011
ISBN: 9781466242074
Publication Date: 2011-09-27
The ease with which digital content can be shared online, in addition to its many benefits, has created a host of problems for today's high school and college students. All too often, students are uploading, updating, posting and publishing without giving a second thought to who might see their content or how it might be perceived....
The Future of the Internet by Debra Bloom
Call Number: HM851 .F88 2005
ISBN: 0737727136
Publication Date: 2005-05-20
Over the past decade, the Internet has radically transformed our global culture. Many thinkers have speculated on how the Internet could transform society even further, and this anthology provides a range of possible scenarios.
Data, a Love Story by Amy Webb
Call Number: HQ801.82 .W43 2013
ISBN: 9780525953807
Publication Date: 2013-01-31
A lively, thought-provoking memoir about how one woman "gamed" online dating sites like JDate, OKCupid and eHarmony--and met her eventual husband. Forty million people date online each year. Most don't find true love. Thanks to this book, their odds just got a whole lot better.

Search Terms

Use key terms to search the library databases. Search terms might include:

Social networking
Online dating
Technology and communication
Technology and social skills
Technology and critical analysis

Library Subscription Databases

Opposing Viewpoints: Gale In Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints In Context brings together viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, biographies of social activists, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazines articles, as well as links to more than 1,800 reviewed and subject-indexed web sites. [Thomson-Gale]
TexShare
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
SIRS Issues Researcher delivers general reference and contains thousands of full text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues selected from over 1,700 domestic and international publications. Beginning August 1, 2019, SIRS Issues Researcher also provides content from SIRS Renaissance (information related to architecture, design, culture, literature, multimedia, music, performing and visual arts, philosophy and religion) and SIRS Government Reporter (current and historic government documents, landmark and recent U.S. Supreme Court decisions, information about federal departments, agencies, elected leaders and more).
TCCD
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
indexes articles covering various subjects from thousands of periodicals, many full text, full image format.
TCCD