Research Guides: MSSG 1005 /1013 / 2014 SO: Books

Books

Mosby's Complementary and Alternative Medicine by Lyn W. Freeman
Call Number: R733 .F743 2009
ISBN: 9780323053464
Publication Date: 2008-06-09
Providing a comprehensive overview, this text includes practical, clinically relevant coverage of complementary and alternative medicine, with commentary by well-known experts, descriptions of recent medical advances, case studies, and the history and philosophy of each discipline, along with indications, contraindications, practical application, and clinical trials for each topic.
Encyclopedia of Thai Massage by C. Pierce Salguero; David Roylance
ISBN: 9781844093939
Publication Date: 2011-12-01
Drawing from Thai history, cultural studies, Buddhist religion, and yogic practices, as well as a modern understanding of anatomy and physiology, this guidebook bridges the gap between theory and practice while presenting bodywork as it is understood in Thailand?
Trigger Point Therapy with the Foam Roller by Karl Knopf; Chris Knopf
Call Number: RM723.A27 K62 2014
ISBN: 9781612433547
Publication Date: 2014-10-07
Deceptively simple and incredibly versatile, the trigger point foam roller is a highly effective self-therapy tool.
Polarity Therapy - Volume One by Randolph Stone
ISBN: 9781570670794
Publication Date: 1999-03-01
This two-volume set by the father of Polarity Therapy--the healing science based on living energy fields--has been essential reading for many practitioners of the healing arts, especially those who employ manual techniques or energy-balancing procedures. Polarity Therapy can be used in psychotherapy, chiropractic therapy, osteopathy, many types of massage, physical therapy, dance, yoga, and other forms of bodywork.

Anatomy and Physiology by Lippincott Williams and Wilkins Staff (Prepared for Publication by); Springhouse Publishing Company Staff
ISBN: 9781582553016
Publication Date: 2004-12-31
This Second Edition is fully updated to deliver the latest information on anatomy and physiology in an easy-to-understand, enjoyable style. Abundant quick-scan tables, illustrations, and flowcharts help the reader focus on key information, while memory joggers and Incredibly Easy quick quizzes aid recall and help gauge progress.
Mosby's Pathology for Massage Therapists by Susan G. Salvo; Sandra K. Anderson
ISBN: 9780323026529
Publication Date: 2004-04-27
More than just a compendium of diseases, this comprehensive guide is an essential resource on pathology and pathophysiology that helps students adapt their technique to ease pain and discomfort, promote healing, and avoid treatment when contraindicated. Ideal as a learning tool or as a handy quick reference, this highly illustrated resource provides discussions of more than 300 pathologies and conditions organized by the body system.
Pathology for the Health Professions by Ivan Damjanov
ISBN: 9781437716764
Publication Date: 2011-01-18
Providing a sound foundation of pathology knowledge, Pathology for the Health Professions, 4th Edition gives you a clear, concise, clinically relevant overview of general pathology, including injury, inflammation, and neoplasia, followed by a detailed review of each organ system.
The Men's Health Home Workout Bible by Lou Schuler (Editor); Michael Mejia (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9781579546571
Publication Date: 2002-11-09
Get bigger biceps, broad shoulders, a bigger bench press, powerful legs, cut abs . . . without ever leaving your home! The body you want, in the space you have. The strength you want, with the equipment you have. The muscles you want, in the time you have.
Introduction to Massage Therapy by Mary Beth Braun; Stephanie J. Simonson
ISBN: 9781451173192
Publication Date: 2013-09-20
Practical, concise, and well-illustrated, Introduction to Massage Therapy, 3rd Edition provides everything your students need to build strong, foundation skills that will carry them throughout their studies, help them prepare for the national exam, and launch them into successful careers as massage therapists.
Disease Handbook for Massage Therapists by Ruth Werner
ISBN: 9780781750943
Publication Date: 2009-06-24
Disease Handbook for Massage Therapists is a quick reference for practicing massage therapists who need to make on-the-spot decisions on the applicability of their work when pathologies are present.
Drug Handbook for Massage Therapists by Jean M. Wible
ISBN: 9780781763097
Publication Date: 2008-04-04
Designed for quick reference, this first-of-its-kind handbook instantly answers the massage therapist's questions about any drug a client may be taking, including how the drug may affect the application of massage, which cautions and contraindications may exist, and which changes in the massage session may be required for a client taking the drug. Drugs are listed alphabetically by generic name and each drug entry includes pronunciation; brand names; effects on the body; diseases, disorders, and symptoms the drug treats; possible side effects; onset-peak-duration table; and massage considerations.

Cataloging Tips

There are several ways to search the Library catalog to locate books on your topic.

Keyword... For searching broad topics. e.g. Green Economy

Title Begins with... Name of the book you are looking for. e.g. Streetcar Named Desire

Title contains... For finding titles that contain a specific word.

Journal Title... Title of the magazine or scholarly journal you are looking for. e.g. Vogue

Publication Year... Year the resource was published.

Author/Title Browse... Browses authors or book titles.

Reserves

Items housed in Reserves are 2- Hour "Building Use Only"

Check Out Procedures

Students are responsible for knowing the Title of the Textbook they are requesting.
If you do not know the title: you can retrieve it from your syllabus.
Students are allowed to check out one Textbook or Reserve item at a time.This will allows each student access to the Reserve item (especially, since in most cases we have only copy of the item).
Student must present student ID or a current semester schedule and fee statement with picture ID every time they checkout a reserve item.

See the document below for the list of items place on Reserves for Massage Therapy.

Massage Therapy Reserve List

Using the Library Catalog

The TCC Library catalog gives you access to materials from all of the campus libraries. It will locate print books, and also give you online access to electronic materials such as ebooks, audiobooks, and streaming videos.

Access the TCC Library Catalog:

Tarrant County College Library Catalog

A good way to start is to type in the topic you are researching (see "Starting Your Research" tab in this guide for more information on this). The catalog will look for your words in the titles of books as well as descriptions and tables of contents of books. Once you have obtained a result list, you can modify it to suit your needs.

If you are looking for ebooks, audiobooks or streaming videos, try clicking the "Electronic Book" link in the blue column to the right of your result list. This will limit your results to just those materials you can access online through the catalog. Some of the materials you find in this area will require you to login in with your WebAdvisor username and password (the same as you use for MyTCC).

If you are interested only in books that are available on your specific campus, the same blue column on the right of your result list will enable you to limit your results to materials on a specific campus.

For more in-depth information about searching the TCC Library catalog, see the Catalog tab on the Library Research Overview below.

Library Research Overview