The PTA Handbook by Kathleen A. Curtis; Peggy DeCelle Newman
The updated Second Edition of The PTA Handbook is a unique textbook that serves students from pre-admission into a physical therapist assistant program, through the academic program, up to career entry and practice as a physical therapist assistant. Dr. Kathleen A. Curtis and Peggy DeCelle Newman have updated this Second Edition to reflect current practice standards, including updated core professional documents addressing direction and supervision to align with developments in the physical therapy profession. The PTA Handbook, Second Edition expands on the popular first edition and includes an overview of the physical therapy profession, the physical therapist (PT) - physical therapist assistant (PTA) preferred relationship, evidenced-based practice and information literacy, diversity and cultural proficiency, and planning for life-long learning and leadership development. What is new in the Second Edition: * Includes key documents that guide the provision of physical therapy services and describe the relationship between delivery of care by the PT and PTA * Career development strategies for the PTA, including criteria for Recognition of Advanced Proficiency for the Physical Therapist Assistant and leadership roles in professional, clinical, and community contexts * Case studies and "Putting It Into Practice" exercises are user-friendly, realistic approaches to enhance student learning and comprehension through immediate and meaningful application of the topic being discussed * Written as a strategy-based guide to success for PTA students in meeting the required demands and expectations during a PTA program as well as in practice in the field The PTA Handbook, Second Edition also covers information that will assist advisors and counselors in college and work re-entry programs to provide guidance regarding the physical therapy profession and specifically the differing roles of the PTA and PT. This text will also serve as a key guide for groups of 21st century learners frequently seeking PTA education, including first-generation college students, adult learners, career re-entry, second-language learners, and learners with disabilities. The PTA Handbook: Keys to Success in School and Career for the Physical Therapist Assistant, Second Edition is an essential reference for students, educators, advisors and counselors, and therapy managers who want to maximize the potential for success of the PTA.
Call Number: RM705 .C873 2015
ISBN: 1617110205
Publication Date: 2014-11-15
The PTA Handbook by
The updated Second Edition of The PTA Handbook is a unique textbook that serves students from pre-admission into a physical therapist assistant program, through the academic program, up to career entry and practice as a physical therapist assistant. Dr. Kathleen A. Curtis and Peggy DeCelle Newman have updated this Second Edition to reflect current practice standards, including updated core professional documents addressing direction and supervision to align with developments in the physical therapy profession. The PTA Handbook, Second Edition expands on the popular first edition and includes an overview of the physical therapy profession, the physical therapist (PT) - physical therapist assistant (PTA) preferred relationship, evidenced-based practice and information literacy, diversity and cultural proficiency, and planning for life-long learning and leadership development. What is new in the Second Edition: * Includes key documents that guide the provision of physical therapy services and describe the relationship between delivery of care by the PT and PTA * Career development strategies for the PTA, including criteria for Recognition of Advanced Proficiency for the Physical Therapist Assistant and leadership roles in professional, clinical, and community contexts * Case studies and "Putting It Into Practice" exercises are user-friendly, realistic approaches to enhance student learning and comprehension through immediate and meaningful application of the topic being discussed * Written as a strategy-based guide to success for PTA students in meeting the required demands and expectations during a PTA program as well as in practice in the field The PTA Handbook, Second Edition also covers information that will assist advisors and counselors in college and work re-entry programs to provide guidance regarding the physical therapy profession and specifically the differing roles of the PTA and PT. This text will also serve as a key guide for groups of 21st century learners frequently seeking PTA education, including first-generation college students, adult learners, career re-entry, second-language learners, and learners with disabilities. The PTA Handbook: Keys to Success in School and Career for the Physical Therapist Assistant, Second Edition is an essential reference for students, educators, advisors and counselors, and therapy managers who want to maximize the potential for success of the PTA.
Introduction to Physical Therapy for Physical Therapist Assistants by
Introduction to Physical Therapy for Physical Therapist Assistants provides a basic overview of the physical therapy profession and of PTs and PTAs as members of the rehabilitation team. It includes physical therapy ethical and legal concepts, cultural competence and cultural diversity, domestic violence issues, laws affecting physical therapy practice, communication, documentation and medical records, teaching, learning, and medical terminology, elements of patient care, and major physical therapy clinical practices. This text is an ideal resource for anyone contemplating a career in physical therapy or already working in the field.
Lukan's Documentation for Physical Therapist Assistants by
How important is documentation? Very! Physical Therapist Assistants must provide the proper documentation to assure all forms of reimbursement (including third party) for their services. And, appropriate documentation also addresses issues of patient confidentiality, HIPAA requirements, and the ever-increasing demands of legal and ethical practice in a litigious society. Build your students' documentation skills and their confidence, step by step, with the guidance and practice they'll find inside the 3rd Edition. They'll be prepared to meet the technological challenges of today...and tomorrow.