Nursing Home Administration, 7e by
Sixth Edition Named a 2013 Doody's Essential Purchase A detailed road map of essential knowledge for obtaining licensure and employment as a nursing home administrator, the Seventh Edition of this classic text is updated to reflect the 2014 National Association of Boards of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators (NAB) Domains of Practice. With more than 50 new topics, it comprehensively addresses all new regulations for managing a nursing facility along with a detailed overview of the skills and knowledge required to be a successful administrator. The Seventh Edition responds to the many changes that have recently occurred in the long-term care field. It provides a completely new Minimum Data Set 3.0 (MDS), 2015 Federal Requirements for Electronic Records, the new International Classification of Diseases, Tenth Revision, Clinical Modification (ICD-10-CM), new Quality Measures, updated Instructions for Making Data as per the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid, the impacts of the Affordable Care Act (ACA), and several new federal regulations. The Seventh Edition clearly describes what nursing home managers do, how they think, and how they lead. It breaks down the art of management into its basic tasks√>=forecasting, planning, organizing, staffing, directing, controlling quality, innovating, and marketing√>=and examines them in depth. The text pinpoints all of the separate components of nursing home administration√>=management, human resources, team dynamics, conflict resolution, finance and business, industry laws and regulations, and patient care√>=and describes how they fit together to form the coordinated activity set required of a successful nursing home administrator. Abundant real-life case studies, chapter objectives, and critical thinking questions greatly enhance learning. Mastering this text will prepare students to take√>=and pass with a depth of understanding√>=the nationally required NAB examination. New to the Seventh Edition: 2014 updated NAB Domains of Practice: Management, Human Resources, Finance, Environment, and Resident Care Introduces over 50 new topics including team dynamics, conflict resolution, and basic principles of nursing and social work Vast changes wrought by new technology and patient data New information on safety and disaster preparedness Updates signs and symptoms of abuse, neglect, and exploitation Provides new technology vocabulary Reorganized for quick access to information A completely new Minimum Data Set 3.0 (MDS) 2015 Federal Requirements for Electronic Records International Classification of Diseases, Tenth Revision, Clinical Modification (ICD-10-CM) New quality measures Impacts of the ACA on long-term care Updated tables and figures New federal regulations for quality of care approaches for residents with dementia; additional medication issues; infection control; residents' rights to establish advance directives; and defining unnecessary drugs Key Features: Provides in-depth coverage of all aspects of nursing home administration Includes current data on the field of long-term care Replete with real-life case studies, learning objectives, and critical thinking questions Formatted according to licensing examination and guidelines of the National Association of Boards of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators Prepares students for the nationally required NAB exam Accompanying Instructor's Manual
Long-Term Care in an Aging Society by
"The authors' knowledge of long-term care is obvious and they provide professional perspectives of the challenges and choices long-term care stakeholders face... Score: 92 - 4 Stars " --Nicky Martin, BS, LNHA, MU Sinclair School of Nursing, Doody's Reviews This is a comprehensive graduate textbook focusing on the full spectrum of long-term care settings ranging from family and community-based care through supportive housing options to a variety of institutional long-term care alternatives. Integrating theory and practice, the book features the perspectives of diverse fields regarding current long-term care options and new directions for the future. Prominent scholars from history, environmental design, family caregiving, social service delivery, clinical care, health service delivery, public policy, finance, law, and ethics explore such themes as: Relationships among independence, dependence, and interdependence Ethical considerations woven into the provision of long-term care Decision making in long-term care Fluidity in long-term care The lived experience of long-term care A micro--macro perspective ranging from the individual to societal institutions The book examines future directions for long-term care, considering such factors as the interface of technology and long-term care, cultural diversity, and relationships between voluntary and paid services. Each chapter includes case examples, study questions, exercises, additional resources, and website links. An extensive glossary of terms is also provided, and instructors' resources are available. KEY FEATURES: Focuses on the full array of long-term care options Integrates theory and practice Incorporates the perspectives of diverse fields including history, environmental design, family caregiving, social services, public policy, and more Includes numerous case examples, study questions, exercises, and additional resources Considers new approaches to long-term care, incorporating technology and considering cultural diversity and voluntary versus paid services
Creative Long-Term Care Administration by 
Leadership and Management Skills for Long-term Care by
While the scope of long-term care settings has expanded from nursing homes and home care agencies to assisted living facilities and community-based health services, the training for nurses, managers and administrators, medical directors, and other professionals who work in these facilities is often fragmented. This book was developed to fill a widely-recognized gap in the management and leadership skills of RNs needed to improve the quality of long-term care. The book is based around learning modules in leadership and management competencies that were site-tested in three types of long-term care settings and revised based on the resulting feedback. Several of the nurse experts involved in the project contribute to this book. The leadership modules cover team building, communication, power and negotiation, change theory and process, management direction and design, and management that moves from conflict to collaboration. Two additional modules cover cultural competence and principles of teaching and learning related to adult education in the long-term care environment. Together, these skills will enhance the nurse's ability to build and interact with the geriatric care team, resolve conflict, negotiate for solutions, develop collaboration, and teach and mentor nurses and nursing assistants.;chapter
Managing the Long-Term Care Facility by
Practical approaches to the operation of long-term care facilities Managing the Long-Term Care Facility provides a comprehensive introduction to the growing field of long-term care. Taking a continuum-of-care approach, the text covers every aspect of long-term care. Readers will develop a robust knowledge of the issues faced by people experiencing physical and or mental changes. Topics covered include the biological and psychosocial implications of ageing, marketing long-term care, facility operations, and information technology for health care, among many others. By integrating all aspects of long-term care, the book is an invaluable resource that will aid students and professionals in preparing for career advancement and licensure exams. The book is also is designed to help students prepare for the National Nursing Home Administrator exam. Pedagogical elements help guide readers through the content, and summaries and discussion questions to drive home lessons learned. Builds expert knowledge of all aspects of long-term care management, including operations, human resources, patient advocacy, and information systems Emphasizes the latest understandings of the long-term care continuum and patient-centered care for diverse populations Delivers practical approaches to providing quality care to individuals and making a positive impact on community wellbeing Prepares readers for and National Nursing Home Administrator's licensure exam Managing the Long-Term Care Facility: Practical Approaches to Providing Quality Care provides real-world guidance for students in healthcare administration, health and human services, gerontology, nursing, business and medical programs, in both domestic and international markets. Nursing home administrators, administrators-in-training and preceptors will find this book an effective training tool in the nursing facility setting.