Skip to main content

DRAM 2366 SO Newberry: Microsoft Powerpoint Tutorials

PowerPoints Tips and Tutorials

Learn what you need to know to create and deliver 2016 Microsoft PowerPoint presentations! Links above provide tips on how to create presentations from scratch, or a template; add text, images, art, and videos; add transitions, animations, and cinematic motion; etc.

OK - so now the hard part is done and you only have one more thing to do - make sure your presentation will show correctly in the classroom. Dozens of students every semester leave home thinking their presentations are ready to go and arrive in the classroom only to find that for one reason or another their presentation will not show properly. This page will guide you in making sure that your presentation looks in the classroom the way you would like it to be seen.

Saving Your Presentation

To ensure your presentation will play properly on the classroom computer:

Be careful what software you use to present your presentation in. Ask your instructor which format they prefer (PowerPoint, Prezi, etc.) before you start you start working on your presentation.  OpenOffice, ThinkFree, and other open source software will normally not play on a college computer. If you need a copy of PowerPoint to use, please check out he “Google Drive” section on this page.

If you used PowerPoint 2007 to develop your presentation, save a copy in 2003 format (use the "Save As" menu option to change the file type). No matter what TCC campus you are making your presentation on, there is a possibility that the computer you will be using might not have the latest version of PowerPoint.

Mac users: be sure and include the (dot) ppt extension to the file name.

Save your presentation to Google Drive or a Flash Drive. iPods, iPhones, Compact Flash cards, etc. cannot be connected to college computers.

Save a copy of your presentation and any images, sounds or videos to your "My Files" area of your Google Drive account. See the “Google Drive” section on this page.

Check your presentation on a college computer before showing it in class. You need to be sure to do this if you created your presentation on a computer away from the college. Many times fonts, images, etc. will not show properly in the classroom if a non-college computer was used. If your presentation looks like you want it to on any college computer, then you can rest easy that it will show the same in the classroom. 

Tips for Pictures, Music and Videos to Your Project

Getting Images Off the Internet

To enhance the slides in your presentation, you can find images that relate to your topic and add them to appropriate slides. One of the best places to go for this is  Google Image Search.

  • Search by your topic and then view the results of your search.
  • To use one of the images, roll your mouse over the image on the result list, and look below the image on the box that pops up. You will see the size of the image (ex: 600x460). Choose an image where both of the numbers are larger than 250.
  • To place the image in PowerPoint, select the image from the result screen.
  • When the image is on the screen, click with your right mouse button (if using a PC) or (control-right click if using a Mac) on the image to bring up a menu that will allow you to copy or save the image or screen shot the image by using the tool "Snipping Tool."  Click on the start button on your (if using a PC) computer and do a search for Snipping Tool.
  • Access your PowerPoint presentation and then paste the image or insert it on your slide.

 

Other Sources of Images

Images that you have drawn or taken with a phone/digital camera also work well for presentations. If you have a picture that you need to digitize, most campus Computer Centers have a scanner available for student use.

Clip art from Microsoft is also another option. These can be accessed directly from the PowerPoint application. You will not need to cite clip art images in your works cited page or have a credit line for them on your presentation.

 

Using Images from the Databases

The TCC Library databases are a great place to find images for your presentation! Many times you can use images that accompany the articles you use for your research. To make a copy of an image from an article in a database, use the right-click method described in the column on the left of this page. There are also a few TCC Library databases that have their own collection of images, sounds and videos that you can use for your PowerPoint presentation. Just be sure to make a note of which database you got the image from for your works cited page if required.

Some of the most popular of these are:

 

You Tube Video Converter 

HOW DO I SEARCH FOR STREAMING VIDEOS?

  • Method 1 - Online Video Collection
  • Method 2 - Simple Search
    • On the library home page, select Books, eBooks, DVDs, CDs, more...
    • Enter your search criteria in the Search for field.
    • Click Search
    • Under Resource Type, click Show More
    • Click Online Video
  • Method 3 - Advanced Search
    • On the library home page, click Advanced Search
    • Enter your search criteria after Any field contains
    • Under Resource Type, select Online Video.
    • Click Search

Feature Films for Education

  • Feature Films for Education (off-campus use Firefox) Feature Films for Education is a large collection of full-length feature films for classroom and educational use. Off-campus users should not use a Chrome browser.
  • How do I access Feature Films see the document below for tips on how to access the database.

Google Drive

Google Drive lets you store and access your files anywhere -- on the web, on your hard drive, or on the go. Here’s how it works:

  1. Go to Google Drive on the web at drive.google.com.
  2. Install Google Drive on your computer or mobile device.
  3. Throw your files in Google Drive. It’s right there on your device.

Now your files go everywhere you do. Change a file on the web, on your computer, or on your mobile device and it updates on every device where you’ve installed Google Drive. Share, collaborate, or work alone: your files, your choice.