Research Guides: GEOL 1405 SE St. Julien : Finding Research

Finding the Information for Your Poster

High-quality science information should be unbiased, accurate, and up-to-date. There's an old saying from computer programming that also applies to research: "Garbage in, garbage out." This means if you start with bad information, you end up with bad information (or a disappointing grade on your poster). The good news is that it is easier to find high-quality information than you may think. Library databases are designed to help students find the right information for their research.

Can't I just Google?

Probably not. Google doesn't access the majority of the internet. A lot of research information, including library information, is part of the deep web and can't be found with a Google search. Google also does not always return the best results at the top of your search results. Using Google also means you will need to personally verify the quality of every resource you use, increasing the amount of time you will need to allot to your background research.

Using Library Databases

There are a few tips that will help you use the library more effectively.

Choose your search terms wisely. Library databases do best when you limit to words or short phrases. For example, if you wanted to look at how asthma is affected by air pollution, you might search for "asthma air pollution".
Keep an open mind. Start your search by looking for data that explains the relationship between your terms rather than assuming you know which direction the research will support. This will help you quickly determine if there is enough information to support your topic and reduce potential bias in your results. In the "asthma air pollution" search example, we did not assume a particular relationship between the terms.
Pick the right database to do your search by reviewing what each one does.
Experiment with your search terms. Many times when students can't find the information they want, it is because they aren't using effective keywords. Most students use terms that are too broad. For example, instead of using a general term like air pollution, maybe try substituting a type of air pollution such as vehicle exhaust instead.

Recommended Databases

Environmental Studies : Gale In Context This link opens in a new window
A good source for topic ideas, journal articles, case studies, images, and much more. One of the key benefits of this database is that the Browse Issues link on the top right of the search page will take you to a list of topic pages with the information already divided by type in each topic. You can also use the statistics, images, etc. as sources for the graphic content of your poster.
TCCD
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles on all aspects of human impact to the environment for students who are comfortable using EBSCOhost databases.
TexShare
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
TCC's largest science database lets you search multiple sources of information at once. Limit to peer-reviewed articles to find scholarly information. ProQuest also includes newspaper coverage from around the world and government publications.
TCCD
Statista This link opens in a new window
A good source for visual information and quick facts to back up your points. Data can be downloaded as pictures, slides, or Excel files you can edit if, for example, you just want to focus on the top 5 data points.
TCCD

If you need more options, please consult a TCC librarian, use the Geology Overview, or go to the full A-Z list of databases for more options.