Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Relax and De-Stress at TCC: In the Library

Finals week is stressful during any semester, let alone during a global pandemic. This guide provides resources to help you relax, de-stress, and lower anxiety before and during finals.

Ready to relax with a good book? Check out these e-books from the TCC libraries!

book cover image - Animals and Teens

Teens live in an imperfect world where people judge each other on looks, popularity, bank accounts, or clothing styles-a world where people are not always treated fairly. But animals do not care about poor test scores or bad skin; they simply love unconditionally. Author Gail Green shows how animals can enhance teens' lives and how teens can improve the welfare of animals that face abuse or live in shelters and wildlife preserves. The voices in this book come from a large cross section of teens and young adults whose stories will resonate with anyone who loves animals. 

book cover image - Complete Idiot's Guide to Meditation

This guide teaches the basics of meditation, how to incorporate it into a lifestyle, using it to combat illness, and using it as a spiritual road map and finding ultimate inner peace.

book cover image - Discovering Meditation

This guide offers step-by-step help in starting meditation or trying new types of meditation. It covers basic meditations, how to overcome difficulties, techniques to assist meditation, and a variety of stress-beating active and peaceful meditations.

Exercise for Mood and Anxiety cover image

Exercise has long been touted anecdotally as an effective tool for mood improvement, but only recently has rigorous science caught up with these claims. There is now overwhelming evidence that regular exercise can help relieve low mood-from feelings of stress and anxiety to full depressive episodes.With Exercise for Mood and Anxiety, Michael Otto and Jasper Smits, well-known authorities on cognitive behavioral therapy, take their empirically-based mood regulation strategy from the clinic to the general public. 

book cover image - Guiding Adolescents to Use Healthy Strategies to Manage Stress

Developed for all youth serving professionals, Guiding Adolescents to Use Healthy Strategies to Manage Stress helps you - Improve your skill sets in helping adolescents manage life's challenges. - Offer practical approaches for guiding youth to control their reactions and choose healthier behaviors - Use strategies to de-escalate tension when stressors lead to crises

book cover image - Handbook on Animal-Assisted Therapy

Coverage includes the use of animal-assisted therapy (AAT) with children, the elderly, those receiving palliative care, as well as people with chronic disorders, AIDS, trauma, and autistic spectrum disorders.  Additional chapters cover techniques for working with families, in juvenile and criminal justice systems, and in colleges and universities. 

book cover image - An Introduction to Yoga

Many people know Yoga as a form of stress-relieving fitness regime. This book delves into the rich philosophy and history of this ancient physical and mental discipline, in the form of four lectures given at the 32nd Anniversary of the Theosophical Society.

book cover image - Meditation in Schools

This introduction to meditation in education is written as a resource for class teachers and educators as a practical guide. Parents will also find it valuable, though its main focus is in using meditation in schools. The purpose of the book is to inspire and to provide concise, practical and general information, and techniques that can be considered and explored before introducing primary or secondary students to meditative experience.

book cover image - The Meditation Sourcebook

The Meditation Sourcebook can help both the beginner and the experienced practitioner by providing how-to techniques, examining the benefits of meditation and offering complete up-to-date resources.

book cover image - Mindful Knitting

Mindful Knitting contains ten original and enjoyable knitting projects, each complemented by a meditation exercise. By looking at the parallels between knitting and meditation—how simple repetitive actions can lead to a grater connection with the world—this knitting book shows you how to enrich your life by combining the two. Author Tara Jon Manning, a noted knitwear designer and practicing Buddhist, explores the spiritual rewards of knitting: Bring inner serenity to your knitting practice—and everyday activities.

book cover image - Mindful Thoughts for Walkers

Mindful Thoughts for Walkers explores how walking is an opportunity to deepen our levels of physical and spiritual awareness. Mindful walking can help us face the existential questions of 'Who am I?', 'Where have I come from?', What am I doing here?' and 'Where am I going?' Through a series of 25 succinct meditations on walking, Adam Ford presents an enlightening guide to how mindfulness and walking can help us improve our conscious living.

book cover image - The Power of Wagging Tails

Medical studies have consistently shown that patients benefit from therapy dog visits. Now in The Power of Wagging Tails, Dr. Dawn Marcus shows you how to unleash the healing power of your own dog, describes how to effectively add a dog to the home of someone with a chronic condition, explains how the family dog can help with chronic health conditions, and teaches how to train a companion dog to be a certified therapy dog to help others. The Power of Wagging Tails will be of interest to dog owners, people wondering how to help family and friends coping with chronic illnesses, and individuals considering training their dogs for therapy work. 

book cover image - Smart Guide to Yoga

Smart advice on how yoga can enhance emotional, physical, and spiritual well-being. Smart ways to relieve stress, strengthen your body, prevent and treat illness, and boost your stamina and energy. Smart tips on what yoga style is right for you, with step-by-step instructions on the poses that best suit your lifestyle and goals. Smart strategies to release physical tension and mental stress with the slow, gentle movements, poses, and breathing techniques of hatha yoga. Smart insights into the six branches of yoga, each a different experience in movement and meditation.

book cover image - Stress at Work

In this jargon-free guide, Jeremy Stranks explains what stress is and what causes it, how people respond to stress and cope with it, how stress can be evaluated and managed and what employers' legal responsibilities are. The author provides simple tools to measure and assess stress and shows how to deal with a range of stress-creating workplace situations, such as bullying, harassment and violence at work. 

book cover image Teachers Managing Stress and Preventing Burnout

The purpose of this book is to help those who help others. Studies have shown the profession with the greatest vulnerability to high levels of stress and burnout is teaching. Our focus is on the individual and their sources of stress and burnout. We provide strategies which enable them to deal better with the complexities of teaching, feel better about themselves, and become more effective at what they do. 

book cover image Yoga for Pain Relief

It's no secret that yoga increases muscular flexibility and strength, but you may not know that yoga is a proven treatment for back pain, knee pain, carpal tunnel syndrome, and other chronic pain conditions. Yoga also helps to ease the stress, anxiety, and depression that can create and reinforce pain, making you feel more comfortable in both your mind and your body. Written by a yoga instructor and former chronic pain sufferer,Yoga for Pain Relief is packed with gentle postures and practical strategies for ending pain. 

book cover image - Yoga Therapy for Every Special Child

This comprehensive guide provides gentle yoga postures and exercises that can help to promote relaxation, flexibility, strength,coordination, and body awareness in children with special needs. The author offers her knowledge of how each posture supports the individual child's needs and abilities. She also outlines the specific benefits of yoga for a wide range of conditions, including Attention Deficit Disorder, ASD, Cerebral Palsy, social communication difficulties, Down's syndrome, and scoliosis. 

book cover image - Yoga XXL

Yoga XXL shows you how to create a safe, enjoyable, and effective yoga practice no matter what your age, size, shape, or physical fitness level. Yoga is not just for the lean and limber. With modified postures and props, everyone can experience yoga's many health benefits including increased flexibility, strength, stamina, balance, energy, and calm.